Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Controlled Substance Management in Chronic Pain by This comprehensive guide covers prescribing controlledsubstances for patients with acute or chronic pain and provides a balanceddiscussion on appropriate treatment, addiction, safety and complications. Chapters feature evidence-based strategies and clinical modalities that addressdiagnostic challenges, treatment guidance, alternatives to opioid managementand the significant legal risks within the current regulatoryenvironment. Authored by leaders in pain medicine, physicians andappropriate health care professionals will find Controlled SubstanceManagement in Chronic Pain to be an indispensable resource.
Publication Date: 2016
Managing Patients with Chronic Pain and Opioid Addiction by This text will provide readers with a thorough review of the complex condition of chronic pain and addictions. The book was originally commissioned due to the need in the field for more literature on the topic. This concise pocket book will review epidemiology, clinical features, diagnosis, and medical management of both chronic pain and addiction. Busy healthcare professionals will benefit from this text, which will not only cover the foundation of the management of both conditions and together, but discuss up-to-date national and international treatment guidelines, upcoming therapies and REMS.
Publication Date: 2015
Treating Comorbid Opioid Addiction and Dependence in Chronic Pain by This in-depth text addresseshow to approach and treat the chronic pain patient struggling with problematicopioid use. It discusses the approach for patients who may be at highrisk of problematic use, such as those with a history of mental illness orsubstance use disorder. The first part covers diagnosis and treatment, focusingon common best practices that practitioners can adapt to any practice. Two ofthe chapters detail alternative and replacement therapies for opioid. Two morecover special issues in the treatment of women and older patients. Thesecond part reviews the ethical, legal, regulatory, and policy issuessurrounding the treatment of patients with comorbid pain and addiction. Thebook includes strategies for documentation that mitigate the risk of legalissues or ethical boundary crossings. The last part of the book addressestreating comorbid pain and opioid use disorder in different medical settings and thetreatment of co-occurring mental illnesses and substance abuse. Treating Comorbid Opioid Use Disorder in ChronicPain is of great value to psychiatrists, painphysicians, primary care providers, social workers, drug rehabilitationcenters, and other behavioral health professionals.
Publication Date: 2016
Treatment of Chronic Pain by Integrative Approaches by From reviews of Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches: "Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches is a major textbook... [I]t should be a part of all departmental libraries and in the reference collection of pain fellows and pain practitioners. In fact, this text could be to pain as Miller is to general anesthesia." Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology Edited by master clinician-experts appointed by the American Academy of Pain Medicine, this is a soft cover version of the Integrative section of the acclaimed Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches. It is intended as a primary reference for busy clinicians who seek up-to-date and authoritative information about integrative approaches to treating chronic pain. Behavioral dimensions of the experience and management of pain Integrative approaches for treating the "whole person" Legal issues, such as failure to treat pain First-hand patient accounts "Key Points" preview contents of each chapter
Publication Date: 2014
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment by A trusted and authoritative resource through three editions, The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment has been fully updated to present the most current scientific and clinical information on a wide range of substance use disorders, from tobacco and alcohol to methamphetamine and "club drug" abuse. It is a comprehensive guide to treatment written at a level appropriate to both experienced and new clinicians, reflecting the expertise of leading addiction specialists in psychiatry and allied fields. With most chapters extensively revised by new authors, it incorporates the latest biomedical research findings as well as recent advances in treatment modalities and the growth of pharmacotherapies. The text offers a comprehensive view of the basic science and psychology underlying addiction as well as extensive coverage of all treatment approaches and specialty topics, such as Alcoholics Anonymous (AA). Coverage of therapeutic issues focuses on goals assessment and outcome research, emphasizing the knowledge needed to treat patients' primary addictive problems by overcoming their defensiveness and denial through empathic engagement and maintaining a willingness to persevere through the vicissitudes of recovery. Practical, treatment-oriented material is presented in more quick reference tables than before to make the book an even more useful clinical resource, and lists of recommended readings have been enhanced. Among the new edition's features: - Separate chapters on the biology and clinical management for each of the drug categories in order to reflect new understandings of mechanisms of drug action.- A more detailed description of the nature of buprenorphine and its role in treating opioid addiction, focusing particularly on its clinical efficacy and recommendations for use in office-based opioid treatment for special populations.- New extensive coverage on cognitive-behavioral therapy, motivational enhancement, and contingency management.- New research on 12-step programs and their role in addiction treatment, including an evidence-based review of what is currently understood about AA-related change and outcome research on self-help programs.- A new chapter devoted to special concerns posed by abusers of prescription drugs -- Vicodin, OxyContin, Ritalin, and others.- A new chapter addressing special considerations in the treatment and prevention of substance abuse in gay, lesbian, and transgender persons. Designed to serve clinicians in practice as well as researchers concerned with addiction, the textbook is also appropriate for trainees in psychiatry, general medicine, and other health fields. It is an invaluable source of treatment options for anyone concerned with the problems posed by patients with substance abuse disorders.
Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Perioperative Addiction by Perioperative Addiction addresses an issue that every anesthesiologist will encounter many times during the course of his or her career: the patient who arrives for operative care under the influence of legal or illegal drugs. The editors and contributors provide expert guidance on how to identify and manage the addicted patient, approaching the subject from the vantage points of the specific drug and of special patient populations. Features: · Guidance for spotting and managing addicted patients · All common and important drugs of addiction, from opioids, cocaine, club drugs, and alcohol, to tobacco, marijuana, nitrous oxide, inhalants, and propofol · Special populations, including pregnant women, pain patients, adolescents, older patients, and healthcare professionals · Fascinating overview of the long history of addiction · Genetic basis of addiction, and the range of pharmacological treatments for addiction
Publication Date: 2011-10-29
Substance Abuse by This book is written for any clinician who encounters substance abuse in a patient and wonders what to do. Experts from a cross-section of specialties and health professions provide up-to-date, evidence-based guidance on how non-expert clinicians can recognize, understand, and approach the management of substance abuse in their patients. They detail the range of treatments available and whether and how they work. The central importance of using a carefully selected multimodal approach that is tailored to the individual patient is emphasized throughout and illustrated in case scenarios from actual clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2014-12-02