Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Predatory Publishing: Databases & Lists

This guide aims to assist with Open Access publishing by helping to identify potential non-scholarly, for profit only publishing practices, also known as predatory publishing.

Databases to Find Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journals is a white list of reputable publishers, aiming to maintain a list of reputable open access publishers.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals, DOAJ today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

(The former) Beall's List of Predatory Publishers

Jeffrey Beall started a blacklist of potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open‑access publishers  in 2011 and maintained his list until January 2017, when it was shut down.

An archived version of Beall's list is still available. A snapshot from December 2016,  it is a great resource to evaluate publishers as well as to check out a particular title. Another version is a copy of Beall's list of predatory publishers & journals, as retrieved from cached copy on 15th January 2017.

Beall's criteria to evaluate journals and publishers are still notable and valid. He suggests checking out the editor and staff of the journal, its business management and publishing practices, as well as its integrity.

Find archived lists on Archive.Is or the Internet Archive:

Publishers: Archive.is | Archive.org
Standalone journals: Archive.is | Archive.org
Hijacked journals: Archive.is | Archive.org
Metric companies: Archive.is | Archive.org

Blogs to Follow

{both written by David H. Kaye, Distinguished Professor of Law at Penn State)

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.