Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Twentieth Century World History: Europe

Maps

Europe Maps
From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Russia and the Former Soviet Republic Maps
From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction. "European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically arranged entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments." Rutgers-restricted Access

Encyclopedia of Russian History. "From the earliest beginnings of the Russian nation (among the ancient Eastern Slavic tribes) to the end of czarist Russia and on through the rise and fall of the Soviet Union." Rutgers-restricted Access

Holocaust Encyclopedia. Articles on every aspect of the Holocaust with links between entries, timelines, photographs, and primary documents.

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture. Prehistoric times to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access

Regional Studies: Europe

Eastern Europe

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei Online
Index to approximately 3 million articles published in Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975. Includes journals from the social sciences, humanities, natural sciences, and popular literature. Requires Cyrillic input; virtual keyboard provided. A project of the Indiana University Digital Library Program.

CIA Declassified Documents: The Princeton Collection
A collection of declassified analytic documents on the former Soviet Union, produced by the CIA's Directorate of Intelligence between 1951 and 1991. Documents were originally released for a 2001 conference held at Princeton University that focused on the role of intelligence in the Cold War.

Internet History Sourcebooks

The Internet History Sourcebooks are great resources for finding public domain and copy-permitted historical texts (primary documents) relating to countries, historical periods, and events.

Russian Revolution
Holocaust
World War II
Western Europe Since 1945
Eastern Europe Since 1945

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.