Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Guides at Rutgers
Recommended APA Style Guides
ASA (American Sociological Association)
Purdue Online Writing Lab
This resource covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described here is taken from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition.
Quick Tips for ASA Style (American Sociological Association)
This style sheet has been provided to assist students studying sociology in properly citing and referencing their papers and essays. The information in this document is taken from the American Sociological Association Style Guide (4th ed., 2010).
CITE SOURCE: ASA Style citations from Trinity University
This guide provides basic guidelines and examples for citing sources using the
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 4th edition, 2010
There are a variety of citation management tools for assisting in the collecting and organizing of your research and the creation of your bibliography. Always be sure to double check all of your automatically generated bibliographies against the style guidelines.
Organize your research
Import references from many electronic databases
Include citations while you write your paper
Build and create a bibliography
Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources
EndNote citation manager has three platforms: EndNote desktop (often referred to as EndNote) for Windows and Mac which must be downloaded to your computer/laptop, EndNote basic (also known as EndNote online or EndNote Web), and EndNote for iPad app.