Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemistry Writing - Spring 2017 (21:160:350): Full-text articles

This guide was specifically created for Dr. Mendelsohn's class - Spring 2017

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

(a) How do I request an article?

Free articles for Rutgers students!

·         As a Rutgers student, you generally do not have to pay to get the full-text of an article.  If Rutgers does not own or subscribe to it, request the article through interlibrary loan.  Just be sure to try the following methods first...

How to locate the full-text of articles

With the many online and print journals that Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to, it is very likley we have the full-text of the article you need.  Try steps #A-C below, but if they do not work, request the article through interlibrary loan (step #D)...

 

A.  Within many of our library databases, you may find that the full-text of articles is available either in PDF format or HTML format.  In that case, simply click on the Adobe Acrobat PDF icon or HTML link.

 

B.  If the full-text of an article is not available through that particular database,

  1. click on or a "Get Full Text" link and our link resolver may take you directly to the full-text of the article within another Rutgers-subscribed database. 
  2. If you see an intermediary screen instead, click on the first link (likely to be "Search the library catalog").
  3. If you see the periodical (i.e., journal/magazine/newspaper/etc.) listed, click on the title to see its full catalog record. If you do not see the periodical listed, go to step #C below.
  4. If the coverage dates listed under the Online Access section are within the date of when your article was published, click on the "Full text available..." link.
  5. If the coverage dates listed next to the Electronic Access line(s) are outside of when your article was published, take a look at the print holdings.  If the Dana Library has a print copy, check the shelves on the lower level for your article.  If one of the other Rutgers University Libraries has a print copy, follow the directions in step #D below.

 

C.  If you receive no results when looking up the periodical title in the library catalog, double-check our "Electronic Journals & Publications (A - Z list)" (http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=pfi).  If the coverage dates listed next to the names of our online resources are within the date of when your article was published, click on that link.  Otherwise, follow the directions in step #D below to request an interlibrary loan.

 

D.  For Article Delivery or Interlibrary Loan, log in with your NetID and password:

https://www.rulill.rutgers.edu/illiad/RULILL/logon.html

  1. Along the left panel, under the New Request section, click on Article Request.
  2. Although only the areas marked with an asterisk(*) are required, it is recommended that you fill in as much information as possible. 
  3. Click the Submit Request button.
  4. Remember to Logoff (see the upper-left corner) when you are finished. 

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):