Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

National History Day New Jersey Resources 2020 / 2021: Rutgers Resources

Using Rutgers Libraries

According to the Rutgers University Libraries policy on Access to Library Resources and Services:

 

Children's Use of the Libraries and Electronic Resources - Children or adolescents, under the age of 18, with no university affiliation, must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times. Parents or adult guardians who bring children to the library are responsible for their protection and safety and must never leave children unattended. Children are expected to abide by all library user conduct and security policies. When a young child is in the library unattended by a parent or adult guardian, university police will be called to ensure the safety of the child and to assist in locating a parent or guardian. Parents or adult guardians are responsible for children's use of the Libraries, including access to the Internet. Library personnel may request identification to verify the age and university affiliation of any unaccompanied young person.

Selected Rutgers University Libraries Resources

Here are a few of the most commonly used general American or New Jersey resources (accessible on the Rutgers University Libraries website).

America:  History & Life --  the primary place to go for secondary source articles on American history

QuickSearch -- useful in locating books, online publications, some online videos, and other resources at the Rutgers University Libraries

HathiTrust -- a general database containing citations to, and in many cases the full text of, a wide variety of resources such as books and articles.  It is an historian's treasure trove.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries -- a full text database

North American Immigrants Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories -- a full text database

JSTOR -- the backfile of many academic journals, some going back into the 1700's

American Periodical Series -- a full text database of America periodicals from the 1700's to the 1940's

New York Times -- full text, full image database of the New York Times from 1851 to a few years ago

Digital Sanborn Maps:  New Jersey -- maps of selected New Jersey cities from 1884 to the early 1950's.

 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.