Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Media and War: Finding Archival Collections

The Internet Archive

The Internet Archive
In addition to some some 3 million public domain books, the Internet Archive also archives websites, software, games, music, and a variety of moving images. Among the many things you can find in this amazingly rich collection:
Television Archive News Search Service
FedFlix
Some 9,000 films produced by the U.S. government, from training films to history.
The Prelinger Archives
The Prelinger Archives is a vast collection of news reels, educational films, films produced by corporations and other organizations, home movies, and other "ephemeral" films.
Understanding 9/11
A collection of 3,000 hours of international TV news from 20 channels over 7 days.

American Memory

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.

Archival Databases/Guides

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
 
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
The most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. Includes bibliographic access to 71,000 archival collections. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Princeton University Findings Aids
Over 1700 finding aids from the Princeton Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections includes the Manuscripts Division (housed at Firestone Library) and the Princeton University Archives and Public Policy Papers (housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library).
Manuscript Collections in the Rutgers University Libraries
Finding Aids to a variety of collections.
New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts Catalog
Search the Archives and Manuscripts collections included in the New York Public Library catalog. To search the full text of archival collections descriptions search AMAT, the Archival Materials Access Tool.
Archival Finding Aids Hosted at New York University
Search across finding aids for collections in the Fales Library & Special Collections (NYU); the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives; New York University Archives; and the New York Historical Society.
Columbia University Archival Collections Portal
Descriptions and finding aids for more than 3,500 archival collections in six Columbia University Libraries repositories. These collections include personal papers, institutional records, corporate archives, architectural drawings, printed ephemera, and many other types of content.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.