Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Media and War: Finding Newspaper Articles

Why Newspapers?

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

News From the Hill

CQ Weekly
"Reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes." Rutgers-restricted Access

The Press Then and Now

Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included, use Access World News.Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1999. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 1999. Rutgers-restricted Access
Proquest Historical Newspapers Combined Search
Simultaneously search the historical New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Defender. Rutgers-restricted Access
 
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
Search or browse the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from 1841 to 1902. The Daily Eagle was published as a daily newspaper for 114 years; among the editors of the Eagle were Walt Whitman, Thomas Kinsella, St. Clair McKelway, Cleveland Rodgers, and Frank D. Schroth. A project of Brooklyn Public Library.
Chronicling America: Search the Newspaper Pages
An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers, 1789-1922

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Newark Star-Ledger back to 1989.Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many major newspapers, including the Washington Post. Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Includes the current New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Contemporary Accounts: Non-U.S. Media

Al Jazeera English
The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.