Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Research Methods in Political Science 21:790:491: Data

Data Analysis

Quantitative Data Analysis: An Introduction
U.S. General Accounting Office. GAO Report to Program Evaluation and Methodology Division. GAO/PEMD-10.1.11. May 1992.

Finding Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The basic databook for U.S. national-level statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: 1878-2012
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Access to data from more than 70 organizational sources. Most data series focus on recent years and a few prior decades, although some data series extend back to the 19th century. Rutgers-restricted Access

UNdata
Search a large collection of UN databases. Includes data on internatinal trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, and transport, as well as demographic and social statistics. Data can be output in comma-delimited (.csv), Excel spreadsheet (.xls), or HTML formats. Rutgers-restricted Access

U.S. Demographics

American FactFinder
Select query elements to create maps and view data tables based on the 2010 Census, Census 2000, the 1990 Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.

Criminal Justice

Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics Database
Data for city and county statistics from 1985 through the most recent year available. Includes city jurisdictions with populations of 10,000 or more and county agencies of 25,000 or more. Includes statistics for violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft).

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The primary source for U.S. criminal justice statistics. Data on corrections, courts, crime types, expenditures, law enforcement, victims, etc.

Women

The World's Women, 2000: Trends and Statistics. 3rd edition. New York, United Nations, 2000.
Data documenting progress for women worldwide in six areas: health, human rights and political decision-making, work, education and communication, population, and families.
Dana Call Number: Ref. HQ1154 .W675 2000

The World's Women 2005: Progress in Statistics
"Focuses on [the] issue of national reporting of sex disaggregated statistics in such areas as demographics, health, education, work, violence against women, poverty, human rights and decision-making..reviews and analyses the current availability of data and assesses progress made in the provision of national statistics, as opposed to internationally prepared estimates, relevant to gender concerns during the past 30 years."

GenderStats: Database of Gender Statistics
Gender statistics and indicators by country and region. Includes indicators for themes that range from health and education to political participation and poverty. Sex-disaggregated data for some themes are limited or not available. Based on national statistics, UN databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. Maintained by the World Bank Group.

Women in Politics

Center for American Women and Politics
Current and historical data on women office-holders and candidates, as well as data on the gender gap and voting patterns. The Center also makes available various reports on women candidates and elected officials.

Women in Parliaments: World and Regional Averages
Current summary data plus archived data back to 1997. The Inter-Parliamentary Union's PARLINE Database also allows you to search for the results of the most recent election in all countries where a national legislature exists.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.