Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Liberalism, Religion and Politics: Finding Newspaper Articles

Military Newspapers

Digital Military Newspaper Library
Search contemporary and historic military newspapers and periodicals from Naval and Air Force bases in Florida, the Kennedy Space Center, a submarine base at King’s Bay Georgia, the Panama Canal Zone, and two newspapers in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

Today's News

Today's News

Many newspapers allow you to register and receive free access to at least a portion of that day's published articles.

The New York Times
The Washington Post

International Media

Current articles from many news sources are also available online.

ABYZ News Links "Gateway to Newspapers, News Media, and News Sources" from around the world, with its own search tool.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. An information clearinghouse and searchable database covering over 25,000 newspapers around the world.

LANIC: Newspapers & News in Latin America

LANIC: Television in Latin America

OnlineNewspapers.com. More than 5,000 titles listed by country.

The Paperboy Links to more than 3600 newspapers from 126 countries.

International Newspaper Archives

There are some online publicly available international newspaper collections as well.

European Newspaper Archives Links to (mostly) free European newspaper archives. Includes British, Irish, Welsh, German, French, Dutch, and other collections. From Xooxle Answers.

International News: Historical Archives. Newspaper collections from Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the rest of the world excluding Europe and the U.S.

International News Archives on the Web. Selective coverage of papers from around the world with searchable archives.

The Press Then and Now

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers.Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers(including the New York Times), magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
CNN - Middle East
Major news network
Contemporary Accounts: Non-U.S. Media

Al Jazeera English
The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar.

Historical Accounts

Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included, use Factiva.Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 1995. Rutgers-restricted Access
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Latin American Newspapers
This collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.