Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Topics in Organic Chemistry - Fall 2016 (26:160:512): Using the Bibliography

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Elena Galoppini's class - Fall 2016

What kind of source is it?

One way to find some more relevant sources about your topic is to make use of the bibliography at the end of scholarly articles - especially review articles!  In order to find the source listed in the biblioraphy, you mus first identify the type of source you are looking for.  Given a citation, how can you tell what kind of source it is?  Here are tips on what to look out for...

  • Book - includes publisher name
  • Journal article - includes volume/issue #
  • Conference proceeding - includes conference name, location
  • Patent - includes patent # that typically begins with 2 letters
  • Web site - includes URL
  • Dissertation - includes university name

For examples of citations in these categories, take a look at the link below:

Accessing Articles

There are also a number of ways in which Rutgers students may access articles:

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.