Databases
- The Cochrane LibraryFocusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective.
- Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice DatabaseJoanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.
- TripTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news
Evidence-Based Practice
"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research."
Sackett, D. L., Rosenberg, W. M., Gray, J. A., Haynes, R. B., & Richardson, W. S. (1996). Evidence based medicine: what it is and what it isn't. BMJ, 312(7023), 71-72.
Other Resources
- AHRQ's National Guideline ClearinghouseAHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines
- The Community GuideThe Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.
- Evidence-based Medicine: What it is and What it isn'tSackett, et al.
- Evidence-based mental healthPublished by the British Psychological Society, the Royal College of Psychiatrists and BMJ
- Evidence-Based Practice in PsychologyAPA Presidential Task Force on Evidence-Based Practice, 2006
- Evidence Based Practice & Policy Online Resource Training CenterSponsored by the Willma and Albert Musher Program at the Columbia University School of Social Work (CUSSW), the EBPP Online Center’s broad goal is to promote evidence based practice and policy in social work
- How to read a paper : the basics of evidence based medicineGreenhalgh, Trisha
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice TutorialThe tutorial was developed by staff at Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource CenterResources and Related Links -
This section provides useful resources to assist you with the selection and implementation of evidence-based programs and practices addressing substance abuse and mental health.