Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Neuroendocrinology: Using style manuals

to support students in the Neuroendocrinology course (21:120:445:01) as they pursue library research to complete their assignments

Style manuals

Style manuals have been developed by professional associations as well as edited publications (like journals) to provide standardized formats for authors to report their research results.  Professional associations are especially concerned with the authoritative development of knowledge in their discipline and the style manual assures both ethical behavior on the part of researchers as well as the optimal structure for reporting research results.  Researchers are expected to give credit to the originators of the ideas they use in making their own arguments.  Through references in bibliographies, readers can follow the evolution of the researchers’ work and uncover more information by pursuing the cited items.  To a frequent reader of research in the discipline, the standardized format becomes  familiar and therefore promotes greater understanding.  Examples of style manuals include the Council of Science Editors' Scientific Style and Format, the New York Times Manual of Style and Usage, the Chicago Manual of Style as well as the manuals from the Modern Language Association and the American Psychological Association. 

What is plagiarism?

        Plagiarism is defined as stealing and using the ideas of another as one's own.  In the academic world, this is considered a very serious charge and, for students, it can lead to dismissal, and, for faculty, it can result in the loss of one's job and/or one's standing in the profession.  When we discussed bibliographies as a test for a reliable information source, we expected the citations to be an accurate reflection of the item's content.  If they are not, how can we make an informed decision?  Plagiarism can be avoided by precision in citing your sources.  When in doubt, cite!

         The librarians at Robeson Library on the Camden Campus have produced a three-part video series on the dangers of plagiarism and how to avoid them. 

         On the University Libraries web pages, there are suggestions offered to avoid plagiarism.  See Don't Plagiarize! Document Your Research.

           You might also be interested in the Online Writing Lab's module on plagiarism which includes a comprehensive list of safe practices.

         Rutgers University has a website available with more information about academic integrity.  The website includes a link to the current Academic Integrity policy which includes the Student Code of Conduct.

          

 

 

 

 

Using AMA style to cite sources

The librarians at the George F. Smith Library for the Health Sciences (RBHS-Newark) have compiled a very helpful and comprehensive research guide, Citing sources of information: AMA style.  Please note that a quick guide is available for printing.  The link is in the second box on the left labeled “Helpful Handouts.”

Using APA to cite sources

     The following sources will provide you with the basics in using APA format. 

APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue's Online Writing Lab

APA Style Essentials from Douglas Degelman, Ph.D., and Martin Lorenzo Harris, Ph.D., Vanguard University of Southern California.  Authors include details about formatting such as spacing, tabs, and a downloadable template for Microsoft Word. They have also linked a sample paper and a sample proposal.

APA Style Tips from the APA includes information about writing without bias and citing electronic resources.  Be sure to look at the sidebar as well as the page section titled Style Topics.

Using journal citation styles

Journals maintain a specific style for authors to follow.  The editors may use a standard style such as APA or MLA or they may have elected to develop their own style.  You can learn more by going to the journal’s information for authors’ page.  You can also make use of the templates available in RefWorks.  When you’re ready to prepare your bibliography, you can select the journal from the Output Style Manager tab at the bottom of the “Create a bibliography from a list of references” page.