Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Professional Writing in Psychology (21:830:360:01): Locating articles in full text

A detailed introduction to using PsycINFO for literature reviews

Full text articles

Finding full text in PDF or html

1.  The article is linked to full text from the citation record in the database.  You may see the Adobe Acrobat PDF symbol or "html full text" after the citation, abstract and subject headings.

2.  Click on PDF or "Full text" in the citation record.  You will be connected immediately to the article or to the publisher's page for the article where you can then select PDF.  If the University Libraries does not subscribe to the journal, you will see a page offering you the option to perform a quick search of the library catalog which includes records of all journal holdings owned by the University Libraries.  By clicking on “Search the library catalog by Title,” you can verify that electronic access is not available.  You may also discover that print holdings are held in one or more of the Rutgers libraries.  This may influence your decision to check the shelf or request an electronic copy of the article.

3.  Search the library catalog directly to find information about all journal holdings including their extent and their format.

  • In the center of the page, you'll see a gray search box where Articles is the default.  Use the "Journals" tab, third from the left, to find the journals owned by the University Libraries.  Enter the title you want to know more about.  The journal title is often labeled “Source” in article citations.
  • Look at the journal record.  Following the bibliographic description, you may see the identifier: “Electronic Access.”  The coverage dates will be included in the link so you’ll know in advance whether your article will be included.  When you open the link, you will see a list of volumes, issues and dates or you may see the publisher's page for the journal.  If this is the case, look for "Past Issues" or "Archive."  Then you're all set to use the volume and issue numbers or the date of the article to connect to fulltext.

4.  Consult the listing of Electronic Journals and Publications: https://browzine.com/libraries/1726/subjects

 

When your article isn't available at Rutgers...

When the University Libraries doesn’t own a journal title you want, you may request a copy of the article from another academic library.  This process usually takes 2-4 days, and you will be notified by email when the article has arrived.  The email message will contain a link to your article. 

Directions for this process may be found on the following pages:
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/how_do_i/article-request 
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/borrow-access-request/ill

Using Google Scholar to access full text

         Using Google Scholar as a Rutgers database can offer advantages when looking for the full text of known articles.  Google Scholar frequently offers links to Full Text@Rutgers or another PDF if the item is available on the open Web.  In addition, Google Scholar will search standard periodical title abbreviations, such as those used in Medline or PubMed (Index Medicus format), which other databases usually will not.

        Use the Advanced Scholar Search to look for your article.  If searching author name, use just the last name to avoid problems with variant initials and so forth.  One efficient search is author last name plus exact phrase searching, in which you can use some exact phrase from the title of the article.  You can also specify journal name and date if you wish.

        References from Google Scholar can also be exported into RefWorks if you change the Scholar Preferences on the browser you are using.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.