Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Imagery and Culture: Visual Expressions of American Culture: The Civil Rights Era

Images

The Civil Rights Era in the U.S. News & World Report Photographs Collection. Selected Images from the Collections of the Library of Congress.

Civil Rights Collection. Some 27,000 mostly black and white images, the work of several photographers done largely in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, and Georgia in the early to mid sixties. Includes a collection of photographs depicting Negative Responses to Civil Rights

Jim Peppler Southern Courier Photograph Collection. Over 6000 photographs taken for the Montgomery Alabama weekly Southern Courier between May 1965 and mid-1968, many documenting the civil rights movement.

Civil Rights Digital Library

Civil Rights Digital Library
Portal to digital collections documenting the struggle for racial equality. Emphasis on materials from the 1950s and 1960s, primarily in the South.

Big Brother on the Watch

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Searchable collection of FBI files. Includes the COINTELPRO files, and files on Abbie Hoffman, the Black Panther Party, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Kent State, Malcolm X, Mississippi burning, Muslim Mosque, Inc., the Organization of Afro-American Unity, the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Rutgers-restricted Access
FBI Electronic Reading Room [The Vault].
Digital documents from the files of the FBI. You can use the A-Z Index, or browse through categories of documents including "Anti-War," "Civil Rights," "Political Figures and Events," and "Popular Culture."

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.