Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Imagery and Culture: Visual Expressions of American Culture: What Was...?

Need More?

The Historical Stage

American Eras
Detroit, Gale, 1997. 8 vols. Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Robert S. McElvaine, ed. New York, Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 2 vols. Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Spencer C. Tucker, editor. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 1998.
More than 900 signed entries, most with brief bibliographies. Considers all aspects of the war in historical context, including Vietnam-related literature and film. Extensive collection of historical documents (1920-1995). Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
New York, Macmillan, 1996. 5 vols plus Supplement (2001).
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
2nd edition. Detroit, Macmillan, 2006. 6 vols.
Signed entries covering all aspects of African-American history and life. While the 2d edition expands the scope of the work beyond North America, it has only a little more than half of the number of entries found in the first edition. Many of the U.S.-centered articles (for example, entries on states and major cities) are not available in the 2d edition. About half of the articles that appear in both have been updated in the 2d edition. Bibliographic references. Together, a good starting point for research.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006. Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
Editors, Alexander DeConde et. al. 2d edition. New York, Scribner, 2002. 3 vols.
121 in-depth scholarly essays on the concepts, themes, movements, and distinctive policies found in the history of American foreign relations. Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. 4 vols.
1,024 scholarly entries relating to the political, economic, military, and cultural interactions of the U.S. government and the American people with other nations and peoples. Most entries include bibliography.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E183.7.E53 1997

History in Dispute

"Addresses heavily debated questions by offering different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe." Thematic volumes include:
Volume 1: The Cold War: First Series
Volume 2: American Social and Political Movements - 1945-2000: Pursuit of Liberty
Volume 3: American Social and Political Movements - 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress
Volume 4: World War II - 1939-1943
Volume 5: World War II - 1943-1945
Volume 6: The Cold War: Second Series
Volume 7: Water and the Environment Since 1945: Global Perspectives
Volume 8: World War I: First Series
Volume 9: World War I: Second Series
Volume 10: The Crusades - 1095-1291
Volume 11: The Holocaust - 1933-1945
Volume 12: The American Revolution - 1763-1789
Volume 13: Slavery in the Western Hemisphere - circa 1500-1888
Volume 14: The Middle East Since 1945: First Series
Volume 15: The Middle East Since 1945: Second Series
Volume 16: Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: First Series
Volume 17: Twentieth-Century European Social and Political Movements: Second Series
Volume 18: The Spanish Civil War
Volume 19: The Red Scare After 1945
Volume 20: Classical Antiquity and Classical Studies
Volume 21: Revolutionary Russia - 1890-1930