Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition : Where Are You Going: Find Articles

Off-campus?

When accessing Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password.

(a) Getting better search results using AND & OR

 

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Search Tips:
teenager* or adolescen* 
AND
family or parent*

teenage*
AND
self-destructive behavior 

(The wildcard/truncation symbol "*" is used to create searches where there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings.)

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers with full text. However, it is not considered comprehensive for academic content.

JSTOR provides electronic full-text access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals. The most current issues (3-5 years) are not included.

More General & Multidisciplinary Databases

Social Sciences

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection indexes over 10,000 titles in social sciences, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 scholarly journals; both international and interdisciplinary in scope.

PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health from more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed.

Search Tips:
Adolescent
AND
Antisocial Personality Disorder

More Social Sciences Databases

English Literature

MLA International Bibliography includes over 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database that provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 124,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, including biographies and bibliographies.

Literature Online (LION) allows full-text searching of the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast collection of key criticism and reference resources, including journals and author biographies.

More Literature in General databases

Librarian

Fobazi Ettarh's picture
Fobazi Ettarh
Contact:
Fobazi M. Ettarh
Undergraduate Success Librarian
John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
(973) 353-5911

Need help?

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian: Ask a Librarian

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.