Skip to main content
Self Help Highlighted Title: Couples Therapy
Overcoming Alcohol Problems
It is well known that alcohol abuse can have a devastating effect on a person's entire life, from work to social life to family relationships. The cycle of alcohol abuse is especially damaging when the individual is in a romantic relationship. When an individual in a relationship struggles with alcohol dependence, both partners suffer and the nature of the relationship can become stressful, dysfunctional, and sometimes violent. Cognitive-behavioural therapy (CBT) has been proven to be an extremely effective method of treating alcohol abuse problems. Designed to be used in conjunction with formal therapy, this Workbook provides couples with all the materials they need to work with their therapist in treatment. It includes, a treatment contract for both partners to sign, forms for monitoring progress and recording drinking episodes, problem-solving and cognitive restructuring exercises, and a relapse prevention plan.
Self Help Book Suggestions
Loving Our Addicted Daughters Back to Life
Publication Date: 2015-06-16
The latest information on gender-specific treatment of addiction and recovery can be found in this go-to manual for parents seeking direction to help their daughters. Step-by-step guidelines present tools for recognizing substance abuse in young women; communicating with them and their care providers; dealing with relapse and long-term recovery; and managing parental shame, guilt, fear, anger, and loving detachment. Linda Dahl is the author of six books, includingMorning Glory (2012), chosen as aNew York Times Notable Book of the Year. A mother of two, she currently resides in New York.
Women and Recovery
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
A breakthrough recovery plan for women who struggle with alcoholism, based on a groundbreaking new model.
Tens of millions of women today drink to excess and their numbers are growing. Now Dr. Kitty Harris, an experienced counselor and therapist who is herself a recovering alcoholic with more than thirty years of sobriety, presents a new model for recovery that focuses on treating the pain in women's lives that can lead to a vicious cycle of addiction--not on the shame that fuels it. Combining her personal and professional experience, Dr. Harris offers tools that can help women who want to recover as well as friends or family members who are seeking help for a loved one.
*Focuses on dealing with the pain associated with alcoholism in women, not reinforcing the shame.
*Discusses the different types of female drinking habits, including binge drinking and drunkorexia
*Takes a plain-language, jargon-free approach that is easy to understand and shares the stories of recovering women of all ages and from all walks of life
*Is written by Dr. Kitty Harris, Director of The Center for the Study of Addiction and Recovery at Texas Tech University, with twenty-five years of private clinical experience working with adults and adolescents
Engage the Group, Engage the Brain
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
A highly innovative collection of activities for use with groups and individuals in addiction treatment settings. Designed to creatively utilize the mind-body connection, these activities are engaging and fun, linked with evidence-based interventions and drawn on emerging brain research, providing a window into reaching clients who may be resistant to traditional talk therapy. Kay Colbert, LCSW, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, specializing in adult addiction, mental health, trauma, pain management, anxiety, and women's issues. Roxanna Erickson-Klein, PhD, LPC, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Milton H. Erickson Foundation.
The Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment Planner, with DSM-5 Updates
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
The Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment Planner provides treatment planning guidelines and an array of pre-written treatment plan components for treating patients coping simultaneously with mental illness and serious substance abuse-literally millions of Americans. Geared equally to both addictions counselors and other therapists, the book includes treatment guidelines for for adults and adolescents; for people dealing with alcohol, drug, or nicotine addictions; for people with depression, PTSD, eating disorders, ADHD, and a large range of other common illnesses.
Addict in the House
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
"This is a straightforward, rich resource for anyone who lives with, and loves, an addict." --Publishers Weekly.
Everyone suffers when there's an addict in the family. Written by an expert in alcohol and drug addiction and recovery, this no-nonsense guide will help you understand the causes of addiction, end enabling behaviors, support your loved one's recovery, and learn how to cope with relapses. If you're the family member of an addict, you may feel confused, guilty, and scared of doing the wrong thing. And when you don't know how to help, you may find yourself in a codependent role, trying so hard to keep your addicted loved one alive, out of jail, or emotionally appeased that you may actually prevent them from realizing they need help. Drawing on her own personal experience with her brother's addiction, Addict in the House offers a pragmatic, step-by-step guide to dealing with a loved one's addiction, from accepting the reality of the disease to surviving what may be repeated cycles of recovery and relapse. You'll learn how to encourage your addicted loved one to get help without forcing it, and finally find the strength to let go of codependence. With this revealing and straightforward book, you'll have the support you need to take an honest look at how addiction has affected the family, cope with the emotional hurdles of having an addicted family member, create and maintain firm boundaries, and make informed decisions about how to best help your loved one.
It Takes a Family
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
Most books on recovery from addiction focus on either the addict or the family. While most alcoholics and addicts coming out of treatment have a recovery plan, families are often left to figure things out for themselves. In It Takes a Family, Debra Jay takes a fresh approach to the recovery process by making family members and friends part of the recovery team, beginning in the early stages of sobriety. Through straightforward, compassionate language, she outlines a structured model that shows families how to work collaboratively and as individuals to find an appropriate balance between personal responsibility and building a circle of support to meet the challenges common to the first year of recovery. Together, family members will address the challenges of enabling, denial, and pain, while developing their communication skills through practical, easy-to-follow strategies and exercises designed to create transparency and accountability. With this invaluable guide, family members work together as they reinvent their relationships without the all-consuming dysfunction of active addiction.
A Sober Mom's Guide to Recovery
Publication Date: 2015-09-29
Recovering from an addiction is tough enough, but when you throw in the tremendous responsibilities of motherhood, resisting cravings and remaining abstinent--much less enjoying the rewards of sobriety--can seem like an impossible challenge. Rosemary O'Connor brings her many years of experience working with women in recovery to addressing the key life issues mothers face at all stages of their recovery path. At once affirming, engaging, and practical, A Sober Mom's Guide to Recovery combines down-to-earth advice with the inspiring stories of recovering moms, including the author's, to offer guidance on over fifty vital topics, including stress, relapse, relationships, sex and intimacy, spirituality, shame, gratitude, dating, and, of course, parenting. The result is an inspirational and practical handbook, not just for getting through the day, but for building a sense of well-being that radiates outward, allowing you to be present with your kids and loved ones, and find hope for the future.
Self Help Miscellaneous
12 Smart Things to Do When the Booze and Drugs Are Gone
Publication Date: 2010-07-08
The author of the recovery mainstay 12 Stupid Things That Mess Up Recovery offers a fresh list of "smart" things to do to attain and sustain emotional sobriety. Whether it's called "dry drunk" or "white knuckle sobriety," it's that stage in recovery when we realize that "putting the plug in the jug" isn't enough. The next step is taking responsibility for the emotional immaturity that fuels our addictive personality and has a tremendous impact on ourselves and others.
12 Stupid Things That Mess up Recovery
Publication Date: 2008-02-11
To grow in recovery, we must grow up emotionally. This means getting honest with ourselves and facing up to the self-defeating thoughts and actions that put our sobriety at risk.[...] In simple, down-to-earth language, Allen Berger explores the twelve most commonly confronted beliefs and attitudes that can sabotage recovery. He then provides tools for working through these problems in daily life. This useful guide offers fresh perspectives on how the process of change begins with basic self-awareness and a commitment to working a daily program.
12 Step Workbooks
Alcoholics Anonymous Big Book Workbook
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This workbook is intended to help people study the Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous. The author has been continuously sober since April 1, 1981 and is actually working his own Twelfth Step by sharing his own experience, strength, and hope that he personally gets from the "Big Book"of Alcoholics Anonymous. As he has often heard, "You can't keep it unless you give it away!"
A Woman's Way Through the Twelve Steps: Workbook
Publication Date: 2000-08-09
Designed to be used in conjunction with A Woman's Way through the Twelve Steps, this workbook helps deepen and extend the understanding of the lessons taught in the book and brings them to life with simple exercises and journaling activities. It further empowers each woman to take ownership of her recovery by documenting her growth and recovery process in a personally meaningful way.
A Gentle Path Through the Twelve Steps
Publication Date: 2012-05-22
It was out of his reverence and respect for the wisdom and therapeutic value of the Twelve Steps that Carnes wrote A Gentle Path through the Twelve Steps, now a recovery classic and self-help staple for anyone looking for guidance for life's hardest challenges. [...] With updated and expanded concepts and a focus on the spiritual principles that lead to lifelong growth and fulfillment, Carnes' new edition invites a fresh generation of readers to the healing and rewarding experience of Twelve Step recovery.
12 Step Workbook
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Compiled by a trained therapist in recovery, this workbook will allow you to deal individually with common issues in recovery. The basic principles of many of the popular twelve step programs are combined into one easy text. It provides a method of working the twelve steps of these programs through a series of open-ended questions, thoroughly covering the addictions facing our society today - alcohol, drugs, gambling, anger, food, relapse, and people, places, & things. This workbook would benefit anyone suffering from any of these destructive behaviors.
Way of Our People
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
These inspirational meditations, prayers, and stories were written by an Ojibwe Elder and alcohol and drug counselor to speak directly to American Indians about their everyday experience of recovery from alcoholism. A combination of Ojibwe and Twelve Step spiritual principles and practices, along with stories from Indians struggling with recovery, create an authentic experience of the challenges and rewards of living sober.
12-Step Workbook for Recovering Alcoholics, Including Powerful 4th-Step Worksheets
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Seventeen years ago, Iam was on the verge of either dying or being locked up for a very long time. Instead, he became a very active member of AA and has stayed in the middle of AA ever since and has been sponsoring new members for over sixteen years.
He loves AA so much that other members laugh when they hear him sing his favorite jingle: "I am stuck on AA, 'cause AA's stuck on me!"
Today, Iam lives in southwest Florida with his wonderful Al Anon wife and their happy seven-year-old daughter and delightful eight-month-old baby boy, Iam Junior.
A Man's Way Through the Twelve Steps
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
In A Man's Way through the Twelve Steps, author Dan Griffin uses interviews with men in various stages of recovery, excerpts from relevant Twelve Step literature, and his own experience to offer the first holistic approach to sobriety for men. Readers work through each of the Twelve Steps, learn to reexamine negative masculine scripts that have shaped who they are and how they approach recovery, and strengthen the positive and affirming aspects of manhood.