Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Media Studies: Researching on the Web: Research

Search Engine Features

Recommended Search Engines. Comparison of Google, Yahoo, and Exalead features. UC Berkeley.

Search Engines

Google
Probably the biggest; most people's favorite.
Bing
The number 2 search engine in terms of use. From Microsoft.
Yahoo
The old #2, they're now powered by Bing.
Ask.com 
Previously known as 'Ask Jeeves', Ask.com uses archived data to answer sentence structured queries.
Exalead
The French connection. Results tend to be very different from the others.
Baidu 
The most widely used Search Engine in China.
Yandex
Popular in Russia and other East European Countries, it has it's own unique features.

Searching for Scholarly Articles and Research

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, legal cases, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites.
Microsoft Academic Search
A semantic search engine for scholarly articles, reports, and conference papers.
Rutgers Alumni Databases
Library Guide to an extensive collection of open access online research databases and other useful sources of information on the internet.
JerseyClicks
Service provided by the New Jersey State Library, JerseyClicks is a collection of online research databases made available to residents of New Jersey.
Rutgers Databases
An online listing of the 300+ online databases and indexes available through the Rutgers University Library system. Majority of these databases and indexes are restricted access to students and other members of the Rutgers Community, the rest are open access.
Wolfram Alpha 
Wolfram Alpha is a computational knowledge search engine, designed to return facts and data instead of websites and webpages.

Finding People

Pipl
Formerly a free online search engine for investigation and for locating information about people, as of 2019 this is now a paid service. Paid services offer more detailed information than would normally be found through a free online search engine.
ZabaSearch
A free online people and public information search engine.  Information may be limited to only that which is already freely available on the internet.

Searching Government Information

State & Local Government on the Net
An Internet directory and search engine to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.
USA.gov
Official guide to government information and services.
FedFlix 
A service of Internet Archive, FedFlix  provides access to a large collection of movies and media of the United States Government.

Privacy and Searching the Deep Web

DuckDuckGo
Smaller than the others, but great if you value your privacy--they don't track their users.
Search Encrypt 
"Search Encrypt is a private search engine that uses local encryption to ensure your searches remain private."
Start Page 
A search engine that doesn't keep track of your IP address. It keeps your search history private.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.