This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users.
Detailed state-by-state information is available for a number of policies. APIS also provides a variety of informational resources of interest to alcohol policy researchers and others involved with alcohol policy issues.
These are useful statistics websites relevant to research in the field of alcohol and substance abuse. Click on the More Info button (a blue circle with and "i") for additional searching tips.
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation's principal health statistics agency, with the mission to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
The Federal Inter-agency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 federal agencies involved in research related to children and families.Through ChildStats.gov it provides easy access to the America's Children annual indicators report and other reports of the Forum.
UNODC was created through the 1997 merger of United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Center for International Crime Prevention, and is mandated to assist Member States in their struggle against illicit drugs, crime and terrorism.
On the home page on the left menu under “Drug prevention, treatment and care”, click on “Drug dependence treatment and care” link to bring you to Treatnet, an international cooperation of resources.
On the top menu, “Treatnet Library” contains comprehensive resources on treatment implementation and case studies (“Treatment Tool Kits”); principles and approaches to drug abuse reduction (“Discussion Papers”); resource and workshop material regarding screening and psychosocial treatment (“Training Packages”); community based treatment, prison populations, and sustained recovery management (“Good Practice Documents”). “Other International Guidelines” currently contains information on opioid dependence and evaluation of treatment services and systems.
Also on the top menu, “Treatnet Phase 1” has information regarding Treatnet’s 20 global resource centers – drug treatment and rehabilitation service providers.
On the home page on the left menu under “Resources”, click on “Data and analysis” for annual World Drug Reports (merged with Global Illicit Drug Trends from 1997); international drug use Statistics; Online databases on international drug seizure data; Journals contains Bulletin on Narcotics; Studies on Drugs and Crime varied by topics and region.
Also under Resources is “Laboratory and forensic science services” with abstracts of information regarding drug analysis.