Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Open Alcohol Studies Resources: Articles

This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users.

Popular Databases

The most commonly used medical databases, including articles related to alcohol and substance abuse. 

MedlinePus  - provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science.  Covers 1950 - present.

PubMed  - database covering biomedical and life sciences literature with citations, indexing and abstracts and links to some full-text journal articles of participating publishers.  Covers 1950's - present.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.

How to Search PubMed

New to PubMed?  Try Simple Subject Searches or  Search for a Journal for quick demonstrations of how to use the PubMed database to find journal articles. For a list of more tutorials for using PubMed tutorials - Quick Tours

Search Term Development

Use the following charts as examples to conceptualize your research question and develop your search strategies.

Specialized Databases

Below are a list of specialized databases focusing on alcohol and substance abuse research.

Articles on Special Topics

The Addiction Studies Finding Aids and Bibliographies  contain articles on particular topics in alcohol studies. Results of searches in the Alcohol Studies Library, these lists serve as a starting point for further research. The documents are currently available in pdf format or shared in RefWorks for Rutgers users (RefShare).

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

For help determining which resources are scholarly, check out Rutgers University Libraries' helpful guide Popular Literature vs. Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Literature: What's the Difference? and the interactive tutorial What Makes a Journal Scholarly?

Using AND & OR