This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users.
Encyclopedias can be useful for looking up factual information or for learning more about a broad topic. The following encyclopedias, all of which are available at the CAS Library, can prove useful when starting the research process.
Encyclopedia of Addictions
by Kathryn H. Hollen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
This two volume set contains frank and factual information about symptoms, causes, effects, prevention, and treatment of substance abuse--alcohol, nicotine, and drugs--and of behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, pathological gambling, and compulsive sexual activity. Including the most up-to-date research, the addiction entries are based largely on criteria established by the American Psychiatric Association in its Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.Tracing the history of the debate over whether addiction is a choice or a disease, the volumes explain how genetic and biological findings support the disease concept while lifestyle choices affect the course of the disease. Graphics and discussions of the brain structures that support this self-reinforcing mechanism illustrate why treatments that obstruct the pathway are showing such promise.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery
by Nancy A. Roget (Editor); Gary L. Fisher (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-11-12
Substance abuse is one of the most frequent and serious problems encountered by human service workers, criminal justice professionals, and clinicians. Unfortunately, many professionals in these fields receive little, if any, formal training about this problem. Our planned encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications in A-to-Z format. Rather than create a compendium of specific drugs and drug effects, for which there are any number of fine titles already available, the focus will be upon practical knowledge and skills for pre-service and in-service human service professionals, including substance abuse counselors and prevention specialists.
The Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse
by Esther Gwinnell; Christine Adamec
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Drug abuse is a longstanding and painful problem that can lead to devastating effects for users, addicts, and their families and friends. Studies show that a large percentage of junior high and high school students have been exposed to, or have experimented with, illegal drugs. The most commonly abused drugs are alcohol, marijuana, and cocaine, but as trends change, new drugs become more and more popular. Abuse of methamphetamines and prescription drugs is currently on the rise, and though anti-drug messages are distributed widely, young people continue to try drugs for the first time every day.With approximately 200 entries, ""The Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse"" covers the full range of illegal and legal drugs and how they impact society. Taking a global perspective, this new title looks at the worldwide drug trade and the effects of drug abuse in countries and cultures around the world, as well as in the United States. This comprehensive reference examines various types of drugs and how they function, risks, causes and consequences of abuse, social issues, psychiatric issues, means of prevention, law enforcement efforts, and drugs in special social groups. Appendixes provide statistics, directories of helpful groups and organizations, and resources for further research.Topics include: accidental overdose deaths; barbiturates; club drugs; drug dependence; gangs and drugs; narcotics; opiates; pregnancy and substance abuse; prescription drug abuse; treatment; and, violence.
An understanding of addiction theory is vital to understanding addiction itself. Theory of Addiction takes theory development from a simple 'rational addiction model', adding elements such as compulsion, self-control and habit, to explain the 'big observations' in the field. As well as explaining and evaluating the arguments of each of the prevailing schools of thought, the book develops a new, synthetic theory of addiction that brings together the diverse elements of current models. Designed to enable students, practitioners and researchers to establish a starting point in the labyrinthine world of addiction theory, Theory of Addiction supports abstract thinking with concrete and realistic scenarios, underlining the centrality of theoretical understanding to working with addiction.
The Oxford Handbook of Substance Use and Substance Use Disorders provides comprehensive reviews of key areas of inquiry into the fundamental nature of substance use and SUDs, their features, causes, consequences, course, treatment, and prevention. It is clear that understanding these various aspects of substance use and SUDs requires a multidisciplinary perspective that considers the pharmacology of drugs of abuse, genetic variation in these acute and chronic effects, and psychological processes in the context of the interpersonal and cultural contexts.Comprising two volumes, this Handbook also highlights a range of opportunities and challenges facing those interested in the basic understanding of the nature of these phenomena and novel approaches to assess, prevent, and treat these conditions with the goal of reducing the enormous burden these problems place on our global society.
Substance use and related addictive disorders rate amongst the top four risk factors contributing to the global burden of disease and form an increasingly important part of medical and healthcare practice. Substance use disorders can cause, mimic, underlie or complicate a large number of common medical and psychiatric disorders. Making a correct diagnosis of the substance use disorder can facilitate clinical diagnosis, avoid unnecessary tests, shorten the hospital stay and make the clinician's and patient's life easier and safer.
This text provides readers with an in-depth understanding of the essential aspects of youth substance abuse--an important contemporary personal, social, and public health issue. * Presents individual perspectives on youth substance abuse issues that provide readers with a very personal outlook on specific aspects of the topic * Provides readers with broad coverage of current issues and topics in substance abuse by adolescents as well as a historical perspective of how this problem has developed in the United States over the past century.
Presenting state-of-the-art, accessible reviews of the expanding science of alcohol treatment, integrated with down to earth, practical guides to the management of a wide range of clinical situations, this new edition is compassionate toward patients, optimistic about treatment, and candid about the clinical and professional challenges embedded in the treatment endeavour. The coverage updates the science that has occurred in the half-decade since the last edition, most notably in the areas of neuroscience, neuroimaging and pharmacotherapy, and includes expanded discussion of historical and public policy forces that have shaped the alcohol treatment field. [...] This text is relevant to all those working to help those with a drinking problem, meeting the needs of general medical practitioners, psychiatrists and other medical specialists, nurses, psychotherapists, counselors, psychologists, alcohol support workers, social workers and occupational therapists, amongst others.
Mindfulness-Based Substance Abuse Treatment for Adolescents is a group-based curriculum incorporating mindfulness, self-awareness, and substance-abuse treatment strategies for use with adolescents dealing with substance use. The evidence-based, how-to format provides a curriculum for professionals to implement either partially, by picking and choosing sections that seem relevant, or in full over a number of weeks. Each session comes equipped with clear session agendas, example scripts and talking points, what-if scenarios that address common forms of resistance, and optional handouts for each session.
The Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment Planner provides treatment planning guidelines and an array of pre-written treatment plan components for treating patients coping simultaneously with mental illness and serious substance abuse-literally millions of Americans. Geared equally to both addictions counselors and other therapists, the book includes treatment guidelines for adults and adolescents; for people dealing with alcohol, drug, or nicotine addictions; for people with depression, PTSD, eating disorders, ADHD, and a large range of other common illnesses.
Those in recovery learn to rein in their brain, ending compulsive behaviors while fostering a more thoughtful lifestyle that ensures long term emotional sobriety. Addiction, whether to mood-altering substances, gambling, sex, or food, stems in part from an over-reliance on the reward system of a primitive part of the brain that can push us to make poor choices based on an expectation of immediate gratification. Those of us in recovery often struggle with the compulsive thoughts and behaviors that are still programmed in our addictive brains well after the drinking and drugging has stopped. These often play out thoughtlessly in our interactions with others, damaging our relationships and growth as balanced human beings. Rein in Your Brain, by addiction expert Cynthia Moreno Tuohy, offers ten tools for breaking the cycle of impulsivity. These time-tested self-interventions include standing still in the moment, giving up control, not assuming the other person's intent, tolerating differences, accepting emotions without giving them free reign, and differentiating between immediate fear-driven reactions and measured thoughts.
Since the publication of Alcoholics Anonymous in 1939, the Twelve Steps have been central to staying sober for millions of people around the world. Countless recovery and treatment organizations have adopted the Steps as their program for abstaining from addictive behaviors. But recently a growing chorus of critics has questioned the science behind this model. In this book, Nowinski calls upon the latest research, as well as his own seminal Project MATCH study, to show why systematically working a Twelve Step program yields predictable and successful outcomes. Whether you are thinking of joining a Twelve Step group, or simply want to understand the science fueling one of the greatest social movements of our time, this book is for you. As any AA member will tell you, "It works if you work it"
Recovery is not a man's world, and yet to a woman it can sometimes seem that way. Geared specifically to that woman, this book brings a feminine perspective to the Twelve Step program, searching out the healing messages beneath the male-oriented words. Based on an open exploration and a flexible interpretation of the Twelve Steps, this new perspective takes into account the psychological development of women as it relates to addiction and recovery, as well as the social and cultural factors that affect women in particular.
In this hopeful and useful guide, Dr. John MacDougall explains how to maintain our spiritual condition so that we can remain reliably sober, and come to restore our relationships with God, ourselves, and those we love. By practicing the spiritual principles of the Twelve Step programs, and making a daily commitment to our program of recovery, we reliably become happy.
An exposé of Alcoholics Anonymous, 12-step programs, and the rehab industry--and how a failed addiction-treatment model came to dominate America. AA has become so infused in our society that it is practically synonymous with addiction recovery. Yet the evidence shows that AA has only a 5-10 percent success rate--hardly better than no treatment at all. [...] But The Sober Truth is more than a book about addiction. [...] The Sober Truth includes true stories from Dr. Dodes's thirty-five years of clinical practice, as well as firsthand accounts submitted by addicts through an open invitation on the Psychology Today website. These stories vividly reveal the experience of walking the steps and attending some of the nation's most famous rehabilitation centers. (From the Hardcover edition.)
For those of us in recovery, Mindfulness and the 12 Steps offers a fresh approach to developing our own spiritual path through the Buddhist practice of mindfulness, or bringing one's awareness to focus on the present moment. We can revisit each of the Twelve Steps, exploring the interplay of ideas between mindfulness and Twelve Step traditions--from the idea of living "one day at a time" to the emphasis on prayer and meditation--and learn to incorporate mindfulness into our path toward lifelong sobriety.
The latest information on gender-specific treatment of addiction and recovery can be found in this go-to manual for parents seeking direction to help their daughters. Step-by-step guidelines present tools for recognizing substance abuse in young women; communicating with them and their care providers; dealing with relapse and long-term recovery; and managing parental shame, guilt, fear, anger, and loving detachment. Linda Dahl is the author of six books, includingMorning Glory (2012), chosen as aNew York Times Notable Book of the Year. A mother of two, she currently resides in New York.
A breakthrough recovery plan for women who struggle with alcoholism, based on a groundbreaking new model.
Tens of millions of women today drink to excess and their numbers are growing. Now Dr. Kitty Harris, an experienced counselor and therapist who is herself a recovering alcoholic with more than thirty years of sobriety, presents a new model for recovery that focuses on treating the pain in women's lives that can lead to a vicious cycle of addiction--not on the shame that fuels it. Combining her personal and professional experience, Dr. Harris offers tools that can help women who want to recover as well as friends or family members who are seeking help for a loved one.
*Focuses on dealing with the pain associated with alcoholism in women, not reinforcing the shame.
*Discusses the different types of female drinking habits, including binge drinking and drunkorexia
*Takes a plain-language, jargon-free approach that is easy to understand and shares the stories of recovering women of all ages and from all walks of life
*Is written by Dr. Kitty Harris, Director of The Center for the Study of Addiction and Recovery at Texas Tech University, with twenty-five years of private clinical experience working with adults and adolescents
A highly innovative collection of activities for use with groups and individuals in addiction treatment settings. Designed to creatively utilize the mind-body connection, these activities are engaging and fun, linked with evidence-based interventions and drawn on emerging brain research, providing a window into reaching clients who may be resistant to traditional talk therapy. Kay Colbert, LCSW, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, specializing in adult addiction, mental health, trauma, pain management, anxiety, and women's issues. Roxanna Erickson-Klein, PhD, LPC, works in private practice in Dallas, Texas, and serves on the Board of Directors of the Milton H. Erickson Foundation.
The Co-Occurring Disorders Treatment Planner provides treatment planning guidelines and an array of pre-written treatment plan components for treating patients coping simultaneously with mental illness and serious substance abuse-literally millions of Americans. Geared equally to both addictions counselors and other therapists, the book includes treatment guidelines for for adults and adolescents; for people dealing with alcohol, drug, or nicotine addictions; for people with depression, PTSD, eating disorders, ADHD, and a large range of other common illnesses.
"This is a straightforward, rich resource for anyone who lives with, and loves, an addict." --Publishers Weekly.
Everyone suffers when there's an addict in the family. Written by an expert in alcohol and drug addiction and recovery, this no-nonsense guide will help you understand the causes of addiction, end enabling behaviors, support your loved one's recovery, and learn how to cope with relapses. If you're the family member of an addict, you may feel confused, guilty, and scared of doing the wrong thing. And when you don't know how to help, you may find yourself in a codependent role, trying so hard to keep your addicted loved one alive, out of jail, or emotionally appeased that you may actually prevent them from realizing they need help. Drawing on her own personal experience with her brother's addiction, Addict in the House offers a pragmatic, step-by-step guide to dealing with a loved one's addiction, from accepting the reality of the disease to surviving what may be repeated cycles of recovery and relapse. You'll learn how to encourage your addicted loved one to get help without forcing it, and finally find the strength to let go of codependence. With this revealing and straightforward book, you'll have the support you need to take an honest look at how addiction has affected the family, cope with the emotional hurdles of having an addicted family member, create and maintain firm boundaries, and make informed decisions about how to best help your loved one.
Most books on recovery from addiction focus on either the addict or the family. While most alcoholics and addicts coming out of treatment have a recovery plan, families are often left to figure things out for themselves. In It Takes a Family, Debra Jay takes a fresh approach to the recovery process by making family members and friends part of the recovery team, beginning in the early stages of sobriety. Through straightforward, compassionate language, she outlines a structured model that shows families how to work collaboratively and as individuals to find an appropriate balance between personal responsibility and building a circle of support to meet the challenges common to the first year of recovery. Together, family members will address the challenges of enabling, denial, and pain, while developing their communication skills through practical, easy-to-follow strategies and exercises designed to create transparency and accountability. With this invaluable guide, family members work together as they reinvent their relationships without the all-consuming dysfunction of active addiction.
Recovering from an addiction is tough enough, but when you throw in the tremendous responsibilities of motherhood, resisting cravings and remaining abstinent--much less enjoying the rewards of sobriety--can seem like an impossible challenge. Rosemary O'Connor brings her many years of experience working with women in recovery to addressing the key life issues mothers face at all stages of their recovery path. At once affirming, engaging, and practical, A Sober Mom's Guide to Recovery combines down-to-earth advice with the inspiring stories of recovering moms, including the author's, to offer guidance on over fifty vital topics, including stress, relapse, relationships, sex and intimacy, spirituality, shame, gratitude, dating, and, of course, parenting. The result is an inspirational and practical handbook, not just for getting through the day, but for building a sense of well-being that radiates outward, allowing you to be present with your kids and loved ones, and find hope for the future.