Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Era of Mass Imprisonment: FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Nia Tuckson

Useful Tips

  • Use the thesauri available in many database to help with search terms.
  • Use the limiting features available in many databases to limit the results of your searches to scholarly peer-reviewed and to types of scholarly articles. 
  • If you need to verify whether a specific journal is peer-reviewed or refereed, Ulrich's Periodicals Directory will help you determine whether a journal is peer reviewed.  This source is useful if the index you searched did not have the option forlimiting your search results for peer-reviewed journals or if you  have articles (or article references) from elsewhere.   Search by the title (exact or keyword) of the journal in Ulrich’s.  The presence of the icon for “Refereed”  next to the journal title will indicate that the journal is peer-reviewed.       

      Refereed   

Specialized Criminal Justice Database

Criminal Justice Abstracts 

The Criminal Justice Abstracts database provides comprehensive coverage of criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present, and is updated quarterly. Prepared in co-operation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library (Newark), Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.

Contains indexing and summaries of international journal articles, books, dissertations, governmental and non-governmental reports, and unpublished papers.    Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

More Specialized Indexes and Databases: Specialized

 

America: History and Life 

Indexes and abstracts books and journal articles covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.  For publications on the rest of the world, refer to Historical AbstractsProvides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.  

 

Abstracts in Anthropology

AnthroSource

Anthropology Plus

These three sources cover extensive scholarly literature in social, cultural, biological, physical, and linguistic anthropology.


ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

Covers journal literature in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

 

Communications &  Mass Media Complete

Covers journal articles in the areas of communications and mass media. Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Medline 

Premiere source for biomedical journal literature and other selected publications.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journalsPubmed is a free government dataqbase that includes the literature in Medline as well as some added literature.  PubMed Central is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. 

 

PAIS International and Archive

Covers journal and non-journal literature in such areas as  economics, political science, public policy, law, public administration, and government.

 

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other  mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

                                                                                     .

PsycInfo    

Academic literature, including books, book chapters, conference papers, and journal articles.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals. 

 

Sociological Abstracts   

Academic literature, including books, book chapters, and journal articles.  Provides an option for limiting your search results to scholarly peer-reviewed journals

 

Westlaw Campus Research

Contains full text of court opinions, statues, regulations, law reviews and journals, legal reference sources, and selected newspapers.

 

 

 

 

About Me

Triveni Kuchi's picture
Triveni Kuchi
Contact:
Librarian for Sociology, Criminal Justice, Cinema, South Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies
New Brunswick Libraries,
Rutgers University - New Brunswick,
Carr Library, 75 Avenue E, Piscataway, NJ-08854
848-445-5733

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.