Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:
It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password.
Free articles for Rutgers students!
As a Rutgers student, you generally do not have to pay to get the full-text of an article. If Rutgers does not own or subscribe to it, you can request the article through interlibrary loan (see step #D below), but just be sure to try steps #A-C first...
A. Within many of our library databases, you may find that the full-text of articles is available either in PDF format or HTML format. In that case, simply click on the Adobe Acrobat PDF icon or HTML link.
B. If the full-text of an article is not available through that particular database,
- click on the and our link resolver may take you directly to the full-text of the article within another Rutgers-subscribed database.
- If you see an intermediary screen instead, click on the first link (likely to be "Search the library catalog by Periodical Title") and take a look at the catalog record of the periodical (i.e., journal/magazine/newspaper/etc.). If you do not see the periodical listed, go to step #C below.
- If the coverage dates listed next to the Electronic Access line(s) are within the date of when your article was published, click on that link.
- If the coverage dates listed next to the Electronic Access line(s) are outside of when your article was published, take a look at the print holdings. If the Dana Library has a print copy, check the shelves on our lower level for your article.
- If one of the other Rutgers University Libraries has a print copy, click on the "Article Delivery" button along the right side of the page and follow the directions in step #D below.
C. If you receive no results when looking up the periodical title in the library catalog, consult our "Full A - Z List" of Electronic Journals (see the link below)...
- If the coverage dates listed next to the names of our online resources are within the date of when your article was published, click on that link.
- Otherwise, follow the directions in step #D below to request an Interlibrary loan.
D. For Article Delivery or Interlibary Loan, click on the link below, then log in with your NetID and password:
- Along the left panel, under the New Request section, click on Article Request.
- Although only the areas marked with an asterisk(*) are required, it is recommended that you fill in as much information as possible. Click the Submit Request button.
- Remember to Logoff (see the upper-left corner) when you are finished.
Physical Sciences Librarian
This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):