Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections of Documents
- Empire Online
- "A fulltext collection of essays and associated primary sources for the study and especially the teaching of the history of empires and empire building in the modern era.... Each section consists of three to five extended essays by a noted historian. Linked within each essay are PDFs of relevant primary documents, approximately 175 per section. The database focuses primarily on the British Empire." You can also search for specific terms, places, people, or events. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century. Collections include: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration). Rutgers-restricted Access
- Internet African History Sourcebook
- Paul Halsall's (Fordham University) compilation of prmary texts.
- Horn of Africa Crisis
- Documents on the 1977-1978 conflict between Somalia and Ethiopia. From the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.
- Access World News
- Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers. Select World Region: Africa to limit your search to African sources. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Historical New York Times
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Washington Post
- Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Native Life in South Africa, Before and Since the European War and the Boer Rebellion
- Sol T. Plaatje. 4th edition. 1920.
- "[W]ritten as a work of impassioned political propaganda, exposing the plight of black South Africans under the whites-only government of newly unified South Africa. It focuses on the effects of the 1913 Natives' Land Act which introduced a uniform system of land segregation between the races." [Neil Parsons, Introduction]
- Heart of Darkness
- Joseph Conrad. Boulder, Colo., NetLibrary, 1996.
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies