Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

U.S. History 1945-1990: The Media

Selling It

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials. A digital archive of thousands of television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others.

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012. More than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.

Bibliographies

University of California at Berkeley Bibliographies on Films and TV Extensive bibliographies, many with annotations, on a variety of topics including censorship, the 1950s, movies and the technological world, reality TV, sex in the movies, and situation comedies; film and TV genres; film and race, ethnicity, and gender; national cinemas; individual film makers and actors; and individual films and TV shows.

Newspapers, Television, Radio and Film

Communities of Journalism : A History of American Newspapers and Their Readers
David Paul Nord. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, 2001. Available?
Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979
David A. Cook. Berkeley, University of California Press, 2002. Available?
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Primary database for communications literature. Full-text coverage for more than 280 titles plus indexing to many more. Coverage varies by title, but ranges from the early 1900s to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Indexes industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals on topics relating to film and television.   Rutgers-restricted Access
TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Index to material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. The database includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) and a daily news program from CNN. Abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Programs include:
  • ABC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
  • CBS Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present
  • NBC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present

For a fee, the Archive will make copies and lend individuals DVDs of specific broadcasts. You can place an Interlibrary Loan Request for a program. However the Rutgers Libraries will only pay for the first $20 of the fee; the requester would be responsible for the remaining amount. Clips from some broadcasts are also available freely on the site. Rutgers-restricted Access

Paley Center for Media Database
The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database. Use of the Scholars Room is available to students and others affiliated with educational organizations at a rate of $15 per day; The Scholar's Room is open: Wednesdays to Sundays 12:00 to 6:00 pm, and 12:00 to 8:00 pm on Thursdays.
American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.