Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.
The Alternative Press
Alternative Press Index. 1969- . Index to journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. Online beginning with 1991. Available?
Looking for News Photos?
DailyNewsPix: Photo Archive of the New York Daily News
Includes current photographs as well as historic images edited from more than six million prints and negatives in the Daily News library. The collection includes staff material dating back to the paper's founding in 1919, and other material dating back to 1880.
Getty Images: The New York Daily News
The Getty Daily News Photo Archive catalogs over 100,000 images that date back to 1919.
New York Times: Photographs: New York
New York Times Photo Archives. The Tumultuous Fifties: A View from the New York Times Photo Archives. New Haven, Yale University Press, 2001.
While articles in the Historical New York Times include photographs, some photographs may be omitted due to copyright issues. These photographs are available on the microfilm edition.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- Historical New York Times
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Washington Post
- Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 1993. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Wall Street Journal
- Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 1995.
The Ethnic Press
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Chicago Defender
- The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Baltimore, 1902-1992.
- The Indianapolis Recorder
- "One of the top African-American publications in the nation." 1899-2005 [lacking 1917-1925].
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
- Search or browse Mexican and Mexican American publications, primarily daily and weekly newspapers, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the present. A project of the University of Arizona.
- The Miami Times
- African-American newspaper. 1958-1969; 2005-present.
- New York Age
- The New York Age, 1887-1953, was one of the best known and most influential African American newspapers of its time. August 1890-February 1892 is available from the Google News Archive; 1906-1953 is available from the Fulton History site.
- Ohio Jewish Chronicle
- Search the Columbus, Ohio newspaper, 1922 through 1994.
- The Pittsburgh Catholic
- Currently March 16, 1844 through March 7, 1957 available for searching or browsing.
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
- Search or browse more than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh: the Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), the American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), the Jewish Chronicle (1962-present), and the Y-JCC series (1926-1975).
- St. Louis Argus
- African American newspaper published in St. Louis 1915-1945. In progress; 1915-1921 scanned.
- Southern Israelite
- 1929-1986. The Southern Israelite, which began in Augusta and then moved to Atlanta, not only covered the news of the southern Jewry, but also the issues that involved Jewish populations throughout the nation and world, including the Holocaust and later the creation of the Jewish state of Israel.
Other Newspapers at Rutgers
Many other newspapers are available at Rutgers on microfilm.
In general you would check for newspapers in the Rutgers Libraries in the same way that you would check for any other periodical--search the Catalog with the title as your search term, and "Perodical Title Begins with" as your search type.
Not Available at Rutgers?
The Rutgers Libraries are members of the Center for Research Libraries, which has a large collection of newspapers on microfilm. Rutgers students and faculty may borrow microfilm reels via Interlibrary Loan.
The The New York Public Library has a large collection of newspapers, including a number of newspapers that are available online. (These would need to be used on-site).
Not Sure What the Local Newspapers Were?
- Newspapers in Microform. United States.
- Washington : Library of Congress, 2 vols.
- Lists newspapers published in the U.S. by state, city, and title. Available?
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies