Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Violent Crime (50:202:325): Finding Articles

Fall 2018 Semenza

Finding Articles

The libraries have many different indexes and databases with access to full text articles and citations. 

QuickSearch  (QuickSearch Help)

or

Choose a specific database from our list of databases.

Both Popular and Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles are available. What is the difference?

Articles that are not available electronically may be available for Article Delivery.

Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology

Databases

Current Events and News

Articles

Searching Tips

Searching Tips:

Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search.

Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching. 

Suggested Subject Headings: (mix and match)

violent crimes

crime

violence

victims of violent crimes

violence and psychological aspects

violence research

collective behavior

collective acation

 

Let the Database help you!

If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.

Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology.

 

 

Getting to the Article

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the button.  This is a program overlaid on our databases that tries to match the citation to the RUL holdings.

  • Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will see a link to full text.
    • If you do not see a link to full text, click on the “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the record in the Library Catalog for the journal title if available in the Rutgers libraries. The Library Catalog record will note the availability of the journal online in the Electronic access line.   The Library Catalog also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.  

    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.