Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Teaching Europe: Resources for Educators: Finding Books and Media

Accessing the Media Center at Douglass Library

Visitors without a current Rutgers ID may use materials from the Media Center on-site. Viewing and listening facilities are provided on a first-come, first-served basis. The Media Center is located inside the Douglass Library at 8 Chapel Drive New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8527 848–932–9783

Search for Media in the Library Catalog.

Finding Media

Videos on Global Regions at the Media Center

Videos on Europe

This list contains videos available for viewing at the Media Center in the Douglass Library and other Rutgers libraries. Descriptions are included.

Academic Video Online (AVON) (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

VAST: Academic Video Online is a large multidisciplinary database of searchable streaming video. Includes the series, "Tools for Teaching" and "Resource Review."

 

 

 

Music Resources

Collections of streaming music:

Smithsonian Global Sound (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Naxos Music Library (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Opera in Video (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Resources for the study and teaching of music:

Oxford Music Online (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Selected E-Books

Cambridge Histories  (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

CHO contains 250+ volumes from 67 different series by leading historians with extensive bibliographies that help you identify the best works to search for.  The database contains the searchable fulltext of all volumes of these series.

Selected Titles of Interest:

The New Cambridge Modern History

Cambridge World History of Food (Vol. 2 chapter: The History and Culture of Food and Drink in Europe)

Cambridge History of the First World War

The Cambridge World History of Human Disease

Cambridge British Histories

Cambridge Histories of Languages

Finding Books in the Catalog

The Rutgers University Library catalog is an entry point to books, media, and electronic resources.  The catalog is freely available from off campus, but the links may take you into licensed (RU-passworded) material

Try searches such as:

Lesson planning

Bilingual Education

Second Language Acquisition

History, Study and Teaching

It's a good idea to do a Subject browse search as well,  to see all related subject headings.

You might also wish to do an advanced search, using a thematic keyword along with a subject search for terms such as:

Sources (this is a common subject heading suffix for primary source document collections)

Study and Teaching

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.