Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Teaching Europe: Resources for Educators: Finding Resources on the Web

Article Databases

Google Scholar (Free portal; strongest for the sciences)

ERIC (Free portal)

ERIC (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

TRC: Teacher Reference Center
Ebsco's free index to over 280 teacher and administrator trade journals and books.

Jersey Clicks (Free portal; log in with an NJ public library barcode)

JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal for residents of New Je;rsey. Databases cover such subjects as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction.

Professional Development Collection (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Designed for professional educators, provides a collection of over 500 full-text education journals (approximately 350 are peer-reviewed), over 200 educational reports, primarily from the U.S. Department of Education, and over 20 monographs from Transaction Publishers.

Other Freely Available Academic Databases

All Rutgers University Libraries Databases

Data Collections

Cultural Patrimony Collections and Resources

RUcore: Rutgers University Institutional Repository

       Open access repository of Rutgers scholarship and resources

Official website of the European Union

       Easy to navigate site; mouse-overs lead easily to sub-directories.  Documents and publications include Resources for Teachers

Europeana

Virtual collection of resources from European museums, national libraries and other organizations. Includes online exhibitions.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

Full text collection of Spanish-language resources on history and literatures of Spain and the Americas. Includes videos, recordings and images as well as articles and books in their entirety.

Gallica Digital Library

Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek is the central national portal for culture and science. It gives internet access to the national cultural heritage.

British Library Digital Collections

WessWeb

List of resources updated by the The Western European Studies Section (WESS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

Image Databases

ARTstor (RU Login or On-campus access)

NYPL Digital Gallery

Oral Histories

Visual History Archive (VHA) (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains 523000 video testimonies in 32 languages (without subtitles) from 56 countries. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors (49,400 out of the total) and other persons with experience of the Holocaust. Also included are testimonies of Rwandan and Armenian genocide survivors and interviews conducted by other organizations.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (Rutgers on-site or RU login only)

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online is a collection of primary sources from six separate databases. It includes correspondence, autobiographies, interviews, and diaries in English written over the course of more than four centuries. It provides personal accounts by men and women from all walks of life of personal as well as historical events.

Rutgers Oral History Archives Searchable transcripts of interviews with Rutgers grads and veterans of WW II, Korean, Vietnam Wars

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.