Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Caribbean Aesthetics: Literature Collections

Finding Literature in the Library Catalogs

Online Collections

Caribbean Literature

Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Particular titles of note include the works of Derek Walcott, José Martí, Wilson Harris, as well as numerous Creole dictionaries.

Black Drama: 1850 to the Present

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. The collection includes more than four hundred previously unpublished plays by writers such as Amiri Baraka, Ed Bullins, Randolph Edmonds, Femi Euba, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-field searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Literature Online (LION)

Searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language--343,000 works of poetry, 5000 dramatic works, and 2000 prose works; 212 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources

EEBO - Early English Books Online

Online Video and Image Collections

ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital image library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online provides full-text access to five important visual arts reference sources, they are:

  • Grove Art Online
  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

Additionally, Grove Art Online provides access to more than 6,000 images through partnerships with major organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Art Resource, Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and numerous international galleries and individual artists.

Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library (HIDVL)

The HIDVL is a unique collection of videos of theater and performance art productions throughout the Americas. Works include experimental and collective theater, political, feminist and queer performance, interviews, among other works. The searchable database also includes a collection of artist profiles with biographies and bibliographies for further reading.

Naxos Music Library

The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Although Naxos is best known for its classical recordings (with more than 200 released each year), the Naxos Music Library also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems.  Naxos offers a number of text resources including overviews of music history, program notes for recordings, and the complete libretti of operas available in the Naxos Music Library.

Smithsonian Global Sound

More than 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.  It also provides contextual to links to images, sound, and other related web sites