Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: The Vagrants by Yiyun Li & Other Readings: Other Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Megan Cummin's Spring 2014 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

General Research

Please see the boxes below for databases where you may search for information not necesssarily related to English literature.  For example, topics may include time or punctuality.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         solipsism
·         job satisfaction
·         job stress
·         violence in the workplace
·         overpopulation
·         Maoism
·         Heroes in literature
·         unwanted children
·         activism
·         oppression
·         loneliness

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         power (SU Subject Terms) AND responsibility (SU Subject Terms)
·         politics (SU Subject Terms) AND China (GE Geographic Terms)
·         freedom of speech (SU Subject Terms) AND China (GE Geographic Terms)
·         propoganda (SU Subject Terms) AND China (GE Geographic Terms)
·         family relations (SU Subject Term) AND importan* or significan* (AB Abstract) AND psych* or emotion* or sociolog* (AB Abstract)
·         los* child (AB Abstract) AND parent (SU Subject Term) AND bereavement (SU Subject Term)
·         obedience (SU Subject Term) AND authority (SU Subject Term)

 

Social Sciences Full Text

Social Sciences Full Text is a database that covers both the theoretical and applied aspects of the social sciences, including subjects such as politics, psychology, sociology, etc.

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subject" terms to be very helpful:

·         solipsism
·         job satisfaction
·         job stress
·         violence in the workplace
·         overpopulation
·         Maoism
·         families

·         activism
·         oppression
·         loneliness

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         power (SU Subject) AND societies (SU Subject)
·         China (SU Subject) AND politics (SU Subject)
·         China (SU Subject) AND revolution (SU Subject)
·        
los* child
(AB Abstract)

 

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.