Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

English Composition: Short Stories & Predicting the Future (21:355:102): Other Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Caitlin Corrigan's Spring 2014 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password. 

General Research

Please see the boxes below for databases where you may search for information not necesssarily related to English literature.  For example, topics may include time or punctuality.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         punctuality

·         time perspective

·         technology -- risk assessment

·         genetic engineering -- risk assessment

·         genetically modified foods

·         nuclear weapons -- environmental aspects

·         nuclear warfare -- environmental aspects

·         nuclear warfare -- forecasting

·         radioactive pollution

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         punctuality (SU Subjects Terms) AND time (SU Subjects Terms)

·         genetically modified foods (SU Subjects Terms) AND (risk or harm) (AB Abstract)

·         nuclear (SU Subjects-All) AND radioactive (SU Subjects-All) danger (AB Abstract)

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is a database that covers most business and management topics.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         punctuality

·         time perspective

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         punctuality (SU Subjects Terms) AND time (SU Subjects Terms)

General Science Full Text

General Science Full Text is a database that covers astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food & nutrition, genetics, health & medicine, mathematics, microbiology, oceanography, physics, physiology, and zooolgy.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         punctuality

·         time perspective

·         genetic engineering

·         genetically modified foods

·         nuclear explosion

·         nuclear warfare

·         nuclear weapons

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         punctuality (SU Subjects Terms) AND time (SU Subjects Terms)

·         genetically modified foods (SU Subjects Terms) AND environment (AB Abstract)

·         nuclear weapons (SU Subjects Terms) AND (risk or harm) (AB Abstract)

Physical Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.