Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Cities and Suburbs in American Culture: Images, Media, and Performing Arts

ARTStor

ARTstor
Approximately 700,000 images with citations in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Inner City: Camilo Vergara Photographs

Tracking Time
Photographs, spanning 40 years, of Harlem, Chicago, Gary, Detroit, Camden, Los Angeles, Newark, Brooklyn, the South Bronx, and Old New York, as well as MLK Folk Murals and the World Trade Center.
Detroit is No Dry Bones
Camilo Vergara discusses the history of Detroit as seen through his photographs in the exhibition at the National Building Museum.
Vergara's Harlem
Photographs at the New York Historical Society.

City Life

"Classic 6:" New York City Apartment Building Living, 1880s-1910s
"More than 1,300 digital images depict elevation views and floor plans for middle and upper class apartment buildings from New York City's pre-World War I residential building boom." A New York Public Library Digital Collection.
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Over 870,000 images.
Library Company of Philadelphia Print and Photograph Collections

Radio, Television, and Film

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access
Paley Center for Media Database
The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database. Use of the Scholars Room is available to students and others affiliated with educational organizations at a rate of $15 per day; The Scholar's Room is open: Wednesdays to Sundays 12:00 to 6:00 pm, and 12:00 to 8:00 pm on Thursdays.
American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.
Off-Campus Access  Rutgers-restricted Access

Performing Arts

Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
Digital collection from the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Includes photographs, posters, sheet music, and newspaper clippings.

Image Libraries

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 685,000 images digitized from NYPL collections.
Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
Search or browse a rich collection of images taken from the collections of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.
Ad*Access
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
Emergence of Advertising in America
"Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
Google LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

Videos/DVDs at Rutgers

Urban Studies
Documentaries and feature films focusing primarily on urban America, with separate listings for New York, Los Angeles, and New Orleans.

Finding Films

Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?

Select Advanced Search from the Library Catalog. Enter the title into the "TITLE" search box, and select Visual Materials from the format pull-down menu.

Videos/DVDs owned by the Dana Library are available for viewing in the Media Center on the 4th floor of Dana Library.

Videos that are only available from the Media Center in New Brunswick must be booked BY FACULTY for class viewing. All other users must view materials on-site at the Media Center in the Douglass Library. Advance reservations for viewing rooms are recommended. Undergraduate students may make reservations no earlier than 24 hours in advance. To make a reservation, call 732-932-978.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.