Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Cities and Suburbs in American Culture: Music and Sound

The Institute of Jazz Studies


IJS Home

The Institute of Jazz Studies, located on the 4th floor of the Dana Library, is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz and jazz-related materials in the world. The collection includes material relating to the history of jazz in Newark. Newark Jazz Materials [From the Newark Archives Project]

Jazz Discography

The Jazz Discography
Information on over 183,000 jazz recording sessions from 1896 to the present. Information for each session includes personnel, place and date of recording, song titles, matrix numbers, and issue (catalog) numbers for a variety of formats, from 78 rpm discs to CDs and downloads. Rutgers-restricted access

Sheet Music

The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
Digital collection from the Johns Hopkins University Special Collections. Includes over 29,000 pieces of American popular music, spannning 1780 to 1980. Especially strong in 19th and early 20th century popular music. Subject browse includes a "City & town life" catagory.

Sound Collections

National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
Currently the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.