Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Research Methods in Psychology (50:830:256): Finding Articles

Spring 2016

Finding Articles

The libraries have many different indexes and databases with access to full text articles and citations. You can search these databases for articles on your topic.  In the search box on our website, click on the Articles tab. 

You may enter a search term and choose to search by keyword, title or author.

or the more effective method is: 

Choose a specific database from our list of databases.

Both Popular and Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles are available. What is the difference?

Articles that are not available electronically may be available for Article Delivery.

 

Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology

 

 

Databases

Google Scholar

Not everything on Google Scholar is peer-reviewed. It is not possible to filter only to peer-reviewed, so pay attention to your sources! Google Scholar also does not contain ALL the scholarship, especially the most recent articles that may be available in a library database.

Google Scholar automatically places AND between words:  zombie library  (This will conduct a search for zombie and library)

Exact Phrase Searching: Enter the phrase in quotation marks:  "zombie apolcalypse"

Search related words: ~library (This will conduct a search for library, libraries, librarian)

Search for alternative words: use OR (must be caps), with terms in parentheses: 

Search for alternate terms using OR, with the terms enclosed in parentheses: (zombie OR undead)

or use Advanced Search:

Settings:

1. Link to Bibliography Manager (RefWorks)

2. Library Links- Choose Rutgers in order to see what is available to you via Rutgers subscriptions.

Articles

Searching Tips

Searching Tips:

Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search.

Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching. 

Pay attention to what is available in the database you are searching (full text?, years available, etc.)

Let the Database help you!

If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.

Looking for Empirical Studies? Check for these words: this study, control group, participants, sample, respondents, methodology.

Getting to the Article

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the button.  This is a program overlaid on our databases that tries to match the citation to the RUL holdings.

  • Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will see a link to full text.
    • If you do not see a link to full text, click on the “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the record in the Library Catalog for the journal title if available in the Rutgers libraries. The Library Catalog record will note the availability of the journal online in the Electronic access line.   The Library Catalog also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.  
    • If Rutgers University Libraries has the article but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery  button in the Library Catalog record.
    •  If Rutgers University Libraries does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.  Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. . The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days.  Click on  Interlibray Loan and Article Delivery Services on the home page.