Skip to main content

Managerial Skills (53:135:501): Industry Overviews

for Daria Torres' Managerial Skills (53:135:501)

Rutgers Business Research Guides

Rutgers Online and Print Resources

IBISWorld provides reports for all of the 723 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. The Rutgers subscription to IBISWorld now includes global industry reports as well as reports on industry sectors in China. (Rutgers-restricted access)

Industry reports from some government agencies and private research firms may be found on the OneSource database. OneSource also includes RMA Annual Statement Studies, with 5 years of industry norms and ratios. (Rutgers-restricted access)

Hundreds of industry sectors for major countries around the world are covered by MarketlLine (formerly Datamonitor 360) (Rutgers-restricted access)

Hundreds of consumer product and service categories are covered by Mintel Reports (Rutgers-restricted access)

Encyclopedia of American Industries, 5th edition, 2008, has reports on about 1,000 industry sectors as categorized by the Standard Industrial Classification code. (Rutgers-restricted access) [http://bit.ly/9SNR4t]

Encyclopedia of American Industries, 3rd edition, 2004. The 3rd edition is available in print: Vol.1: Manufacturing Industries; Vol.2: Non-manufacturing Industries (CAMDEN, DANA, CARR REF HC 102 .E53)

The Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (CARR REF HC 106.6 .S74; DANA Reference Desk) are useful for basic statistics (production, shipment, sales, revenues) for large industry groups but not for all products.  The industry you need can be requested from Carr or Dana libraries via Article Delivery.

The monthly Standard & Poor's Statistical Service (DANA Business Reference; CARR Reference Desk) provides selected current and historical statistics on 12 industries.

Mergent Online has lengthy reports on 39 major industry sectors for four primary regions of the world. (Rutgers-restricted access)

More industry sectors are covered by Value Line and Value Line Historical Reports (Rutgers-restricted access) (previously available in print: Value Line Investment Survey (CAMDEN REF HG 4501 .V2; DANA, CARR Reference Desk)) but the overviews are shorter.

U.S. Government Resources

The Economic Census, conducted every five years, covers retail trade, wholesale trade, service industries, construction industries, manufactures, mineral industries, transportation, communications, utilities, and financial, insurance, and real estate industries.

There are also twenty "defense-essential" industry sectors covered by the Industry Studies Program of the Industrial College of the Armed Forces.

The Internal Revenue Service has a small series of industry-based Audit Techniques Guides and several "Large Business" Industry Overviews to assist IRS examiners in the audit and evaluation of specific industries.

A handful of industry, commodity, or service sectors are covered in the Industry and Trade Summaries from the U.S. International Trade Commission.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has published a series of reports entitled Sector Notebooks (ALEXANDER, DANA U.S. DOC EP 1.2:P94/no./) which profile selected industries. Each "notebook" describes the manufacturing process and the environmental impact of those processes. There is also a section summarizing the applicable federal regulations. These Sector Notebooks are also available online from the EPA's Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance.

Industry-specific trade data for many major sectors is available from the Manufacturing and Services unit of the International Trade Administration, including Automotive Industries, Consumer Goods, and Travel and Tourism.

The number of establishments with employees in each industry may be found in County Business Patterns. Data is also available for Metro areas and by ZIP code.

Nonemployer Statistics provide information on business without paid employees.

Business Librarian and Information Literacy Coordinator

Katie Anderson's picture
Katie Anderson
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library

300 North 4th Street

Camden, NJ 08102

Text or call: 856-477-3535

Office: 856-225-2830
Website / Blog Page