Skip to main content
Rutgers Business Research Guides
Business Databases: Quick Guide
Excellent overview, organized by aspect of business.
This guide includes links to all guides for aspects of business and types of resources.
This guide will lead to many sources of industry data and reports from Rutgers-restricted library databases, the U.S. federal government as well as commercial firms, trade associations, and non-profit organizations.
With Starting Points and details on use of many databases and web sites, this fills in all the details.
Business Research Resources
Hoover's Company Profiles in Westlaw Campus Research
Once in the Westlaw database, click on Hoover's Company Profiles in the upper left menu.
MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor 360)
Start with MarketLine for company profiles, SWOT analyses, financial deals, and market share.
Business Source Premier
For articles on all aspects for business: topics, companies or industries which may be in trade journals as well as scholarly peer reviewed journals. This database also includes many Datamonitor reports all of which you can also find in MarketLine.
This has in-depth industry overview reports, as well as some for major companies. Mostly US, though some international.
OneSource aggregates company and industry information from many sources, and provides global coverage of over 4 million firms, more than 100 industry sectors, and over 12 million corporate executives. Key features include ten years of financials for public companies, corporate family relationships, industry averages (for the U.S.), industry profiles, executive biographies, and current news articles. Includes RMA Annual Statement Studies business ratios and norms against which you can compare your company's performance.
Offers demographic, product and industry market research reports covering US and international marketplaces which combine data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Original research reports compiled by Mintel, with selected data from consumer survey research firms such as Simmons National Consumer Surveys and Harris Interactive, as well as retail sales figures from Information Resources, Inc. and trade associations.
Easy, graphic approach to demographic data. You can download data tables behind the graphics.
Accounting Research Manager
This single, searchable comprehensive database of accounting and auditing information includes primary source material from:
FASB (Financial Accounting Standards Board)
AICPA (American Institute of Chartered Public Accountants)
IASB (International Accounting Standards Board)
PCAOB (Public Company Accounting Oversight Board)
SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) and more.
CCH's editorial team is responsible for the interpretative documents
Business Librarian and Information Literacy Coordinator