Skip to main content
Searching for articles
For assistance in Newark, please call the Dana Reference Desk at 973-353-5901.
Ways to Find Full Text Articles
1. The article is linked to full text in your database. ("The 1-click solution.")
2. Click on to search for the article in Rutgers resources automatically. (If Get It @ R sends you directly to the article, it is "the 2-click solution." If you end up at an intermediate screen, click on one of the options, such as SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOG BY PERIODICAL TITLE or REQUEST THIS ARTICLE VIA INTERLIBRARY LOAN.)
3. Try the JOURNAL TITLE in the QuickSearch box at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu.
4. Use the Rutgers version of Google Scholar, which has links to full text owned by Rutgers.
6. Can't find the article anywhere at Rutgers? Go to ILLIAD and use the ARTICLE REQUEST form to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.
Some Important Social Sciences Databases
Current issues database of well-researched reports on "hot topics".
Full-text material in news and business as well as case law and law reviews. Law reviews are excellent sources for the non-attorney because they treat legal subjects for the most part without specialized legal language.
Core database in the field of sociology.
PsycINFO (Including PsycArticles)
Online version of the Psychological Abstracts, a core database in psychology.
Business Source Premier
Indexes important journals in business and economics as well as in public service and administration.
Indexes articles in economics.
PAIS International and Archive
"Covers literature from 1972 to the present in the fields of economics, political science, public policy, business, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, and government." -- from the Rutgers database page. The PAIS Archive has material from as early as 1915. Originally based upon the collections at the Economics and Public Affairs Division of the New York Public Library.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
"Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy" -- from the Rutgers database page.
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database ideal for undergraduate students. Searches exact phrases. Will output references in MLA format.
Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)
Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Link to Full Text to check availability at Rutgers. References in MLA, APA, and Chicago can be found under "More". You can change the settings (one browser, one machine at a time) to use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.
Full-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.
Recent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
ATLA Religion Index
Database in religion and theology. Good for religious aspects of topics.
Covers material in philosophy, including ethics and morality. Good source for moral and ethical aspects of topics.