Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Topics in Anthropology: The Politics of Extinction: Authropology Encyclopedias

Anthropology Encyclopedias

Countries and Their Cultures [Rutgers Restricted]
"Focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information." Electronic version of the 4 volume print resource.

Encyclopedia Arctica
The site provides images of the typescript of a proposed 20-volume reference work on the northern arctic and subarctic regions. "Subjects covered include archaeology, anthropology, botany, engineering, geography, geology, history, law (including international relations); language, medicine, meteorology, oceanography, religion, zoology, biographies, and special topics such as the image of the arctic in Shakespeare."

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History [Rutgers Restricted]
"A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community." 2nd edition.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the full depth and breadth of American immigration history--from the arrival of the early ancestors of Native Americans more than ten millennia ago to a broad range of twenty-first century immigration issues." Addresses the diverse demographic, economic, legal, political, and social aspects of immigration.

Encyclopedia of American Urban History [Rutgers Restricted]
Provides "both a summary and an interpretation of the field. With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology."

Encyclopedia of Anthropology [Rutgers Restricted]
"Focuses on topics in physical/biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication."

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society [Rutgers Restricted]
"Presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world." Electronic version of the 3 volume print resource.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion [Rutgers Restricted]
"A three volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras."

Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the diverse range of topics associated with consumer culture over both time (historically) and space (geographically)... by drawing on a variety of disciplines that address the subject area, including anthropology, business studies, communications studies, cultural studies, economics, environmental sciences, history, geography, gender studies, innovation studies, leisure studies, marketing, media studies, philosophy, psychology, political science, social work, sociology, and science and technology studies."

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture [Rutgers Restricted]
"Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics, and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines." Electronic version of the 3 volume print resource.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography [Rutgers Restricted]
This electronic version of the multidisciplinary print resource covers cartography/geographical information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social/cultural geography, and urban geography.

Encyclopedia of Identity [Rutgers Restricted]
Offers "a broad, comprehensive overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity, the entries include short biographies of major thinkers and leaders, as well as discussions of events, personalities, and concepts."

Encyclopedia of Motherhood [Rutgers Restricted]
"The intent of the encyclopedia is to introduce readers to and provide information on the central terms, concepts, topics, issues, themes, debates, theories, and texts of this new discipline of motherhood studies as well as to examine the topic of motherhood in various contexts such as history and geography and by academic discipline."

Encyclopedia Of North American Indians [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes descriptions of tribes; selected biographies; "interpretive entries that present brief overviews of significant topics, historical eras, and cultural traditions;" as well as definitions for frequently mentioned terms and events.

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education [Rutgers Restricted]
"Intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in issues involving schools and society."

Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture [Rutgers Restricted]
Surveys "major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse our present comprehension of time. Its inclusive orientation recognizes the contributions of not only scientists and philosophers, but also theologians and creative artists from various fields."

Encyclopedia of Urban Studies [Rutgers Restricted]
"Includes important work and traditions from each of the urban disciplines, including urban anthropology, urban economics, urban geography, urban history, urban politics, urban psychology, and urban sociology."

Fashion - Costume - and Culture: Clothing - Headwear - Body Decorations - and Footwear through the Ages [Rutgers Restricted]
Electronic version of the 5 volume print resource providing "a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs."

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America [Rutgers Restricted]
"Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section." Electronic version of the 6 volume 2nd edition of the print resource.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Includes regional overviews, with surveys of musical heritage, traditions and themes, as well as descriptions of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Electronic version of the 10 volume print resource.

Green Culture: An A-to-Z Guide [Rutgers Restricted]
"Assesses green cultural transformations by presenting articles of importance to students of sociology, history, political science, communications, public relations, anthropology, literature, arts and drama." Part of the Green Society: Toward a Sustainable Future series.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography [Rutgers Restricted]
"Provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas."

Encyclopedia of Islam [Rutgers Restricted]
"Includes articles on Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries." New edition.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World [Rutgers Restricted]
"Looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more." Electronic version of the 2 volume print resource.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution [Rutgers Restricted]
"Provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved. Specifically, the 5,000 entries cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness, as well as information about modern methods used to trace the recent evolutionary history of modern human populations. "

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.