Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Italian Language and Literature: Find Books & Media

A guide to the study of Italian language and literatures from the Middle Ages to the present.

COVID-19 Temporary Access

For a full list of trial resources, visit https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/trial-databases

For recently acquired/licensed indexes and databases, see https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/new_databases. 

For recently acquired/licensed e-books, see https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/new-ebooks.

Using the library catalog

Use QuickSearch to search for library materials, regardless of format, that are owned by or accessible via the Rutgers University Libraries.  

Find Italian Literature in the Catalog

Keyword searching

Keyword searching is the default in QuickSearch and in most search interfaces. Use it when you're not quite sure what your looking for, or when you want to survey the libraries' holdings on one or more topics.Keyword search in QuickSearch

Search by author

Most authors are searched last name first, e.g.: Bassani Giorgio.

A few medieval authors are searched by first name, e.g.:  Dante Alighieri.

Search by title

Either of these should work because of the presence of what catalogers call uniform and parallel titles. Note the absence of the direct article.

Title in Italian, e.g.: Divina comedia.

Title in English translation, e,g.: Divine comedy.

Author/title search

The best option for a known item search. Use Advanced Search. Enter Bassani under Author and garden under Title (set with dropdown menus). This returns both print and film for The Garden of the Finzi-Contini.

Alternately, use the boolean operator AND, i.e. Bassani AND garden, in a keyword search.

Search by subject

Author as Subject, e.g.: Eco Umberto

Author and Work as Subject, e.g.: Eco Umberto Nome della rosa

Genre as Subject, e.g.: Detective and Mystery Stories


Note: The catalog displays location of book, film or other item, its call number and its status (circulating/non-circulating):

location code, call number, and circulation status

 

Find Ebooks

Biblioteca della letteratura italiana - Several hundred full text works from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Collaboration between Pianetascuola and Einaudi. (Open Access)

Biblioteca Italiana - Large collection of open access books representative of the Italian cultural and literary tradition from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. (Open Access)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online - Nearly comprehensive collection of works published in English (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the eighteenth century. (NetID Required)

HathiTrust Digital Library - Search millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials. Includes hundreds of works in Italian and Latin, mostly from the 18th and 19th centuries. (NetID Required)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Database of primary source collections for the 19th century, primarily anglophone, but including material from other nations and in other languages. (NetID Required)

... Or in the QuickSearch Advanced Search interface, enter your search terms and limit your results to "Available online."

Advanced search for streaming media

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.