Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Evidence-Based Medicine: Rutgers Libraries EBM Resources

An Introduction to EBM

Sources & Databases for finding appraised / filtered evidence meta-analysis and systematic reviews

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.

Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

Trip

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

DARE – Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effects

DARE is focused primarily on systematic reviews evaluating the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services.  The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health. Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

PubMed, the largest biomedical database in the world, is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. You may filter results using “Systematic Review” / “Meta-Analysis”. Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

CINAHL, provides access to nursing and health research articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials. Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)

PsycINFO provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

Unfiltered or Raw Evidence Resources Randomized Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Case Reports/Case Series

PubMed

PubMed, the largest biomedical database in the world, is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintains the database as part of the Entrez system of information retrieval.  As of December 2018, PubMed has more than 29.1 million records going back to 1966, selectively to the year 1865, and very selectively to 1809; about 500,000 new records are added each year. As of the same date, 13.1 million of PubMed's records are listed with their abstracts, and 14.2 million articles have links to full-text (of which 3.8 million articles are available, full-text for free for any user).

Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button

CINAHL

Patient care, including nursing and allied health. To limit your search to evidence-based literature, scroll down the search page and either select appropriate EBM type studies (systematic review, controlled trial, etc.) from the Publication Type box OR in the Special Interest box select Evidence Based Practice OR click Evidence-based Practice box on the left

Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

Trip 

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Results are sorted and arranged by relevance and categorized by type and level of evidence.

CENTRAL:  Cochrane Controlled Register of Trials

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform

In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article. Records are included irrespective of language or date of publication.

Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Journals covered in Web of Science are chosen for their credibility, influence, and relevancy. Coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 8000 journals), followed by social sciences (almost 3000 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1600 journals).

Full text articles are available through Rutgers Libraries by clicking on the “Get it at R” button.

Critically appraised sources / Filtered

UpToDate

UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions. In order to maintain uninterrupted access on campus or remote/mobile access to UpToDate, you must verify affiliation with Rutgers by logging into your UpToDate Account on campus every 90 days.

DynaMed

DynaMed is updated daily to produce a collection of the most current evidence curated from more than 500 medical journals. It incorporates over 21,000 global guidelines including National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) and the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) guidelines. It is used on smart phone of computer.

In addition to including the most current and relevant evidence, DynaMed has features and a structure to speed the time to answer for users. The bulleted summary of topics offers the most concise, evidence-based recommendations with easily accessible supporting references. Additionally, it includes a semantic search functionality and a “Follow” feature that allows users to set up alerts when topics are updated with new evidence and guidelines.

Essential Evidence Plus

Clinical decision support systems includes 13,000+ topics, guidelines, tools and images covering common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter daily. Every recommendation includes strength-of-evidence rating. Access POEMs (patient Orientated Evidence that Matters) Research Summaries and set up by email alerts by registering for a MySTAT!Ref account.

ACP Journal Club

Summarizes best new evidence from 120 clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine and part of the Annals of Internal Medicine.

Unfiltered Information; Background Information & Expert Opinion

Clinical Key

Clinical Key provides information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service.  It provides full-text access to over 500 Elsevier journals, 1,000 e-books, and 9,000 medical and procedural videos.  Additionally, it provides access to clinical practice guidelines, clinical trials, First Consult reviews, patient handouts, and the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed database.  The latter covers journal citations and abstracts to the published health sciences journal literature. There are also collections of images, drug monographs, and access to Procedures Consult.

ACCESSMedicine

Access Medicine is an online collection of key medical reference texts that provide authoritative and current medical data. Medical news, updates, patient education information, a diagnostic tool, and an integrated drug database with information about dosages, trade names, and pricing are also part of this resource. Searching is available across the entire suite of basic sciences and clinical texts. An A-Z index and Quick Access search also provide easy access to material.

 

Other Clinical Textbooks

List of Electronic Books by Subject

Often a good source of general or background information. You can also get good pictures/photos/illustrations/diagrams here. The quality of the information varies, but most importantly, the evidence can be outdated by the time it is published.

Textbooks are not the best source for current treatment information, but are better for pathophysiology and presentation of disease.  They ARE a good source of data such as laboratory values, signs and symptoms, drug interactions and dosage, and other “reference” information.  Make sure that the date of the printed textbook is recent. 

The Rutgers University Health Sciences Libraries subscribe to a number of electronic textbooks.  A number of these do have a “recent updates” feature that allows publishers to include information that is much more current than that found in their print counterparts.

 

Additional Sources of Clinical Practice Guideline

ECRI Guidelines Trust

ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies. ECRI Institute's 20+ years of experience as the sole prime contractor for the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) puts us in a unique position to build upon that legacy by summarizing guidelines and appraising them against the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Standards for Trustworthiness.

Many other databases also provide access to guidelines including PubMed, CINAHL, DynaMed Plus, UpToDate, Trip, and Clinical Key. Select a database and conduct a search on the specific condition (e.g. asthma) of interest, then in:

  • PubMed - look under the Article Types section to the left of the results, click on the Customize link, select Practice Guideline, click Show, and then click on the Practice Guideline option that is now displaying under Article Types.
  • CINAHL - look to the left of the results, click on Show More under the Data Limit slider, find the Publication Type box and select Practice Guidelines, and then click Search.
  • DynaMed - select a specific monograph on the topic (e.g. asthma in adults and adolescents), scroll down in the Topic outline on the left, and click on the Guidelines and Resources section.
  • UpToDate - select a specific monograph on the topic (e.g. an overview of asthma management), scroll down in the Topic outline on the left, and click on the Society Guideline Links section.
  • Trip - Look to the right of the results and select the Guidelines by evidence type.
  • ClinicalKey - look to the left of the results and select the Guidelines option.
 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.