Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

LGBTQ Studies: Find Articles

This guide provides access to multidisciplinary resources in LGBTQ Studies.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search
 
 

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of LGBTQ Studies-related databases. Find a list of all subject-based databases here.

Helpful hint: Make sure to try databases in other subject areas, as well. For example, if you are researching the middle school experience of LGBTQ students, you will want to use Education databases as well.

Women's Studies International (This is a broad database, including information on trans people, two-spirit, intersex individuals and men, as well.)

GenderWatch

America: History & Life

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Anthropology Plus (especially helpful for international sexuality studies)

ATLA Religion Database

Biological Science Collection - ProQuest

CQ Researcher (Search "LGBT" to see all policy reports and news summaries)

eHRAF World Cultures

MLA International Bibliography (For literature and film criticism)

PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)

PubMed

Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)

Sociological Abstracts

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Edition)

Women and Social Movements, International

How to Request an Article

Learn how to get the PDF of an article if you can't find it through the Rutgers Library databases:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Article Delivery 

Use ILL services to request books, articles, book chapters, microforms, conference proceedings, or other materials that aren't available at Rutgers, or to request a digital scan of an article or book chapter from one of our non-circulating collections. Physical materials can be picked up from any Rutgers library

LGBTQ Newsletters and Magazines

The Advocate (1996-present) ONLINE Resource

The Ladder (1956-57, 1964-66, 1970-72) ONLINE Resource

Long time coming (Montréal, Quebec) (1973-76) ALEXANDER Microfilm

Sinister Wisdom (1978-present, with gaps) DOUGLASS Periodicals

TWO (1964-66) The Homosexual Viewpoint in Canada ONLINE Resource

Vice Versa (1947-48) ONLINE Resource

Selected E-Journals

Journal of Homosexuality 1/1/1997 to present

Journal of Lesbian Studies  1/1/1997 to present

Journal of the history of sexuality

Sexuality and Disability 1997 to present

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.