Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin (21:355:102) : Other Research

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Mark Labowskie's Spring 2013 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

(a) Searching for articles

searching for articles

(a) How do I request an article?

General Research

Please see the boxes below for databases where you may search for information not necesssarily related to English literature.  For example, topics may include Black Pentecostalism or the Great Migration.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following terms to be very helpful:

·         "Azusa Street Revival"

·         "storefront church"

 

2)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         Pentecostalism

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         "Great Migration" AND "African American"

·         "James Baldwin" AND "Go Tell It on the Mountain"

·         "James Baldwin" AND (homosexual* or gay)

JSTOR

JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 400 scholarly journals.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin AND religion

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin AND Great Migration

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin AND biblical rhetoric

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin AND biblical allusion

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain AND James Baldwin AND homosexual or gay

ATLA Religion Database

ATLA Religion Database indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. 

 

Search Tip:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following term to be very helpful:

·         "Go Tell It on the Mountain"

·         "Azusa Street Revival"

·         "storefront church"

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

                                       ·         black AND Pentecostal*

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.