Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

English Composition: Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin (21:355:102) : English Literature Research

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Mark Labowskie's Spring 2013 ENG 102 class.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password. 

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

English Literature Research

Please see the boxes below for several databases in which you may search for literary criticism, as well as for topics related to English literature.

Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Consider searching by "Name of Work":

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain

2)  Consider searching by "Person - By or About":

·         Baldwin, James

3)  Note that you can also combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain (Name of Work) AND Baldwin, James (Person-By or About)

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online (LION) allows full-text searching of 350 literature journals, as well as other criticism and reference resources.

Search Tips:

 

Within the "Quick Search" box, consider searching:

·         Go Tell It on the Mountain

 

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be very helpful:

·         "James Baldwin" AND "Go Tell It on the Mountain"

 

Physical Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.