Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Alumni Databases: eBooks

Useful bibliographic databases that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation.

Digital Book Index

Digital Book Index
Links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.

eBook Databases

Google Books
Google has partnered with a number of universities to scan the full-text of public domain books in the university library collections. In addtion to the full-text of the books in the public domain, for many titles Google allows you to view snippets or selected pages from books still under copyright.
Hathi Trust
A shared digital repository with almost 5 million full-text digitized volumes in the public domain.
Internet Archive
Search the "Texts" files for specific titles or books on particular subjects.
Project Gutenberg 
"Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education."

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.