Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Animal Farm by George Orwell (21:355:102): Other Research

This course guide was specifically created for Instructor Max Gray's Spring 2013 ENG 102 classes - sections 9 and 25.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

Rutgers Libraries Toolbar

The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox extension (or add-on) that:

  • provides a drop-down menu to library resources
  • embeds library links on popular Websites such as Amazon.com
  • offers special functionality when you highlight terms on a Website and right-click over them with your mouse
  • allows linking from ISBNs, ISSNs, PubMed IDs, and DOIs to Rutgers-restricted online resources
  • is easy to install and easy to use

For more information, click on the link below:

General Research

Please see the boxes below for databases where you may search for information not necesssarily related to English literature.  For example, topics may include equality or totalitarianism.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         equality

·         totalitarianism

·         communism

·         dictatorship

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         totalitarianism (SU Subjects Terms) AND Russia (GE Geographic Terms)

·         equality (SU Subjects Terms) AND egalitarianism (AB Abstract)

·         totalitarianism (SU Subjects-All) AND Stalin (AB Abstract)

JSTOR

JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 400 scholarly journals.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects Terms" terms to be very helpful:

·         utopia

·         egalitarianism

·         totalitarianism

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         totalitarianism AND Stalin

Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index is a database that covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

 

Search Tips:


1)  Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following “SU Subjects" terms to be very helpful:

·         utopia

·         egalitarianism

·         totalitarianism

 

2)  Note that you can combine different terms using the Advanced Search option, such as:

·         totalitarianism (SU Subjects) AND ("Soviet Union" or Russia) (TX  Alll Text)

Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.