Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Experimental Methods for Cognitive and Behavioral Sciences (21:830:302): Locating articles in full text

A guide to library research for annotated bibliographies and literature reviews.

Full text articles

Five ways to find full text in html or pdf

1.  The article is linked to full text from the citation record in the database.  You may see “Full text” or the Adobe Acrobat pdf symbol after the citation, abstract and subject headings.

2.  Click on   to perform a quick search of the library catalog which includes records of all journal holdings owned by the University Libraries.  You will be connected immediately to the article or to an intermediate screen.  By clicking on “Search the library catalog by Title,” you can verify that electronic access is not available.  You may also discover that print holdings are held in one or more of the Rutgers libraries that may influence your decision to check the shelf or request an electronic copy of the article.

3.  Search the library catalog directly to find information about all journal holdings including their extent and their format.

  • In the center of the page, you'll see a gray search box where Articles is the default.  Use the "Journals" tab, third from the left, to find the journals owned by the University Libraries.  Enter the title you want to know more about.  The journal title is often labeled “Source” in article citations.
  • Look at the journal record.  Following the bibliographic description, you may see the identifier: “Electronic Access.”  The coverage dates will be included in the link so you’ll know in advance whether your article will be included.  When you open the link, you will see a list of volumes, issues and dates or you may see the publisher's page for the journal.  If this is the case, look for "Past Issues" or "Archive."  Then you're all set to use the volume and issue numbers or the date of the article to connect to fulltext.

4.  Using the Citation Linker can be very helpful when you have a citation from a bibliography rather than an index/database search.  Although the Citation Linker form is lengthy, you will get results by entering a small amount of information, author, journal titles, date and article start page, for example.  If the journal title is not available in electronic format at the University Libraries, the resulting screen will include an option for you to make a request from another library.

5.  Consult the A to Z list of electronic journals.  The website includes a search box as well as an alphabetical list of the University Libraries’ electronic journal titles. (http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?id=1729&sid=64136061&TabID=2)

 

When your article isn't available at Rutgers...

When the University Libraries doesn’t own a journal title you want, you may request a copy of the article for delivery to your desktop.  This process takes 24 hours or less.  Start your request by going to the University Libraries home page and clicking on Services & Tools, the second choice from the left on the red bar at the top of the screen.  Please select the first choice, Borrow/Request/Renew."  On the next screen, you'll see the link to "Request ARTICLES."   By clicking on the link, you will be ready to sign in.  There is another link to the  Interlibrary Loan option when you click on the  button in the article citation in an index.  If the requesting process is new to you, more information is described in the following brief tutorial.

Using Google Scholar to access full text

         Using Google Scholar as a Rutgers database can offer advantages when looking for the full text of known articles.  Google Scholar frequently offers links to Full Text@Rutgers or another PDF if the item is available on the open Web.  In addition, Google Scholar will search standard periodical title abbreviations, such as those used in Medline or PubMed (Index Medicus format), which other databases usually will not.

        Use the Advanced Scholar Search to look for your article.  If searching author name, use just the last name to avoid problems with variant initials and so forth.  One efficient search is author last name plus exact phrase searching, in which you can use some exact phrase from the title of the article.  You can also specify journal name and date if you wish.

        References from Google Scholar can also be exported into RefWorks if you change the Scholar Preferences on the browser you are using.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.