Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Women and Gender in U.S. History II: 1830 to the Present: Women and Art

This research guide points to select resources for the course Women and Gender in U.S. History II: 1830 to Present. Professor Jennifer Mittelstadt. Spring 2013.

Images from Rutgers Collections

Portion of the wall paper design project at Art Department created by Mary Cook Craig, Douglass College Class of 1949. 

Sample Subject Headings

Art, American -- 20th century

Art, modern -- 20th century

Feminism and art

Women and art

Women artists

Primary Sources

ARCHIVAL COLLECTIONS:

 

Contemporary Women Artists Files, 1971-

Judith K. Broadsky Collection, 1971-1993 (bulk 1977-1987)

Mary H. Dana Women Artists Series Collection, 1971-

Miriam Schapiro Archives on Women Artists. The link to the guide is here

Records of the Heresies Collective. SC/UA. Organization of feminist artists based in New York City. Container list available. For the description of the collection, see entry "Heresies" on this guide

Records of the New York Feminist Art Institute, 1976-1990.

Women's Caucus for Art, 1972-1989. founded at Rutgers as "a clearinghouse for ideas, a networking headquarters, a materials resource and a vehicle for public visibility" for and about women in the visual arts. More on this collection, see entry "Women's Caucus for Art" on this guide

Guerrilla Girls, 1985- grew out of the women's art movement of the 1970s. IN 1985 the Guerrila girls began displaying propest posters of the art establishment that discriminated against women and artist of color. They presented themselves in public using gorilla masks. Go to database Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 and search for "guerrilla girls." 

Links

Mary H. Dana Women Artist Series was established at Douglass Library in 1971 by Joan Snyder and others. It is the oldest continuous running exhibition space in the United Stages dedicated to women artists. 

Mabel Smith Douglass Library was established as the library of the New Jersey College for Women. As one of the major library units on New Brunswick Campus, it now houses the collections on women and gender and performing arts. 

Institute for Women and Art of Rutgers University promotes art and aesthetic contributions of diverse communities of women. 

Cabaret Theater on Douglass Campus has provided Rutges communit a wide variety of theatrical experience. The site lists the performances and cast members since the 1973 season.