Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Gender, Culture and Representation: Feminist Science Fiction and Feminist Science Studies: Finding Articles

This guides presents resources for the course Gender, Culture and Representation: Feminist Science Fiction and Feminist Science Studies. Women's and Gender Studies Dept. 01:988:202:02. Professor Catherine Read. Spring 2016.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search
 
 

Strategies Searching in Indexes and Databases

You can use the search box on the library main page to search for articles. However, for more specific searches, we recommend using specific databases. 

1. Start with a keyword(s) or a phrase.

   Ex. (feminist science fiction)

         (feminism) and (science fiction)

         (science fiction) and (women)

2. Once you find an article of interest, note the subject headings (in some databases called descriptors) used in the record.

3. Go back to the search box and search using these subject headings. You will find more articles on your topic of initerest.

Recommended Databases

Using the same stragegy described in the box to the left, search using keywords first to identify subject headings. The following databases are recommended for this class. The complete list of databases is available here 

MLA International Bibliography

Women's Studies International

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Resource Center

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.